Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Vicki's Classic Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vicki's Classic Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2010

      Made half the recipe this morning and tried a few bites still warm. Yum! I used celery salt in place of the seeds and salt. The dressing had a sweet-sour taste like brocolli salad dressing. Chilled it well and enjoyed it with leftover chilled Roast Chicken Breasts With Parsley Pan Gravy for a nice picnic lunch. Thanks for posting Vicki. Made for Zwizzle Chicks for ZWT6. Edited 6/26: I made this with 1 lb sea shell macaroni, red onion, and 3 eggs. Made the dressing as posted and chilled it overnight. I had a sample for breakfast and it was fantastic! This is for a BBQ today and I am looking forward to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      this how i make my salad too used Stoved Tatties to make zaar tour 6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Ya got the Zesties too! Loved this. The sugar was an excellent addition, especially after not having it before in potato salad. I had some celery from the garden and added that too. Great salad, and one I can use lots! Made for ZWT 6 Zesties!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      I'm with my friend, PottyPie. Very, very similar to the potato salad that has been a staple in our family. The only difference was the addition of the sugar. I loved this served next to the baked beans I made. They just cried out to each other! Thnx for sharing your recipe, Vicki. Made for a fellow Voracious Vagabond in ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Yum, very much enjoyed today! A sweet dressing that I liked. Thanks! Made for Family Picks for ZWT#6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This is a wonderful potato salad suited just to my family's tastes. It's tastes very much like mine my Grams taught me to make when I was just a kid. I cut down the celery seeds to about half a teaspoon because I added fresh chopped celery for some crunch, (with the leaves, too!) I also halved the mustard, I don't usually use it in my salad. It was surely yummy on Father's Day with brats, dogs and fresh fruit salad! ZWT6. Thanks Vicki!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This is a great potato salad. Probably the best I have ever made. I cut the recipe in half, since it's just my hubby and me and we ate it for two meals. I omitted the onions (personal preference) and it was still perfect! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Wonderful, old-fashioned potato salad. I halved the recipe, but added an extra egg, and mashed the yolks with the mayo and seasonings the way my mom used to. I used half dill and half sweet relish, and added a little green pepper and crumbled bacon. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Great potato salad! I also added a small bit of celery and used less celery seed. A true classic in every way. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      This is an especially nice recipe for those who don't like celery and for those who don't have celery on hand, but want to make potato salad. I did cut back on the celery seeds and will probably add some celery the next time. Thanks for sharing. This is a keeper. PS. Gets even better on the second and third days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Very tasty - a nice balance of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Excellent potato salad ! I added a bit of cut up celery as well as the celery seeds....turned out great! Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Wonderful potato salad, reminded me of my mom's and grandma's. I used Idaho potatoes and left it in the refrigerator overnight. The next day we had perfect creamy potato salad. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4 - Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      This recipe was almost exactly like my grandmother's potato salad so I have to say that I absolutely LOVED it! I only made a couple of changes. I used red onion and added some crumbled bacon. Made for July 4th during ZWT4 while travelling around with my Babes! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      When you want the classic, creamy potato salad, this is what you want. It's perfect. I had no celery seeds, so I just chopped some celery and put it in. This is the crowd-pleasing potato salad that no picnic should be without. Thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Great potato salad! I'm the only one that likes potato salad at my house, so I made a smaller amount than what is specified to go with my 4th of July burger. I had never added celery seeds to a potato salad before and really enjoyed the bit of crunch. Thanks Vicki for yet another keeper. Made for ZWT4 Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      This was really really good. The only change we made was to use dill relish instead of sweet pickles. Very very yummy! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      What a great Potato Salad! The only thing I changed was adding a little parsley (only because I hand plenty on hand). Very easy recipe and great creamy flabours. I cut up the potato first then boiled them, it didnt take as long and it worked very well. This was made for DS and DD to take to school/work for lunches............... I dont think its going to last until the morning they love it and are eating it warm! Thanks Vicki another keeper for this family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vicki's Classic Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 309.1
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    40%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 62.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 822.0 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites