Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Sunday Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sunday Chicken

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2003

      I can't tell you how good this was. The meat was literally falling off the bone when we went to carve it and the skin (my favourite part) was mouth-wateringly tasty. Considering we got enough from this for two big supper plates, my lunch for work the next day, a couple cups of leftover meat and the carcass to make stock with, I think it was very good value too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      I made this for Sunday dinner actually. This was so easy and turned out very well. The chicken meat was very moist. The outer skin was nice and crisp. The lemony flavor and creole seasoning made a good combination of flavors. Thanks Nurse Di and Emeril!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2002

      Incredible roast chicken. Very easy to prepare. I followed the recipe to a tee. Wonderfully seasoned with the lemon and creole seasoning. A perfect combination in our opinion. The chicken meat was so moist and tasty. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      Yet another 5 stars. I made this last week after reading some of the reviews and I am so glad that I did. I have a chicken roasting rack which certainly helps with browning and excess fat drippings. I had a rather large bird, 6lbs so doubled the ingredients. What a treat. The out come was a beautifully browned succulent bird. You have a winner here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      Made this for my Sunday dinner. LOL The house was filled with wonderful aroma and the flavor of the chicken was great. I doubled the recipe because I had a six pound chicken. I also placed extra rosemary sprigs in the cavity. Next time I will lift the skin and placed the spices under it for added flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      After all the raves I just had to try this recipe. I made it on Sunday 'cause, well, just 'cause that's what it says. Really easy and delish. Saved the bones and made stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      Truly I was surprised at how well this turned out. When I was making it, my mother actually peered into the roasting pan and advised me to add water. I, having tried Di's recipes before, knew to trust the recipe. It was wonderful! Moist and flavorful. I don't know what creole seasoning is, and couldn't find it anyway, so I bought cajun seasoning. My guests loved it. Served with basmati rice and roasted asparagus. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2003

      Cher recommended this recipe to me, and I am so grateful. I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. I did change one thing, I made it on a rotisserie, which only enhanced the flavor I am sure. The combination of flavors was tremendous, and it was so tender, it basically fell apart when I took it off the skewers. The smell of it cooking was 5 stars alone! Really amazing chicken recipe Nurse Di, I will definately be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      This was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. The chicken was moist and tender. It did take a little longer to cook then said but I tend to think that was my ovens fault. Think I need a oven thermomater to check it. I sliced the left over for sandwiches, and am cooking the bones, think it will be chicken stew. What ever it turns out to be it sure is making my house smell yummy. Thanks for the great recipe. Iva

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2003

      This made a yummy, delicious chicken dinner. I thought it was easy, too. Smelled wonderful while roasting, mainly because of the rosemary. A wonderful blend of flavors and spices. The chicken meat was very moist and tender. A hit with my family and we thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2003

      This recipe is worth way more than 5-stars. It was easy to make and turned out well. The chicken meat was tender and juicy. The lemon and rosemary flavor was to die for and the spice of the cajun seasoning just put it over the top. My family loved it too. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      Very good recipe. I used dried rosemary.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2003

      I was looking for something quick and easy for my chicken and this fit the bill perfectly! Thanks so much for a delicious baked chicken! My husband loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I added 3 sprigs of rosemary and 5 crushed garlic cloves to the cavity of the chicken along with 1/2 of the lemon. We had it for dinner tonight along with a wild mushroom risotto and a roasted beet and gorgonzola salad. Superb! This will be my go-to roasted chicken from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Great recipe. Easy, simple, delicious. That's the best kind of cooking there is. Thanks for sharing,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Yummy! Very moist and full of flavor! I did make a few changes and those were to use Emeril's Essence instead of creole seasoning (the ingredients for homemade versions are basically the same and I already had the essence on hand) and I also made it in the crockpot instead of the oven-5 hours on low and it was perfect! I didn't love the flavor the lemon added to the chicken, but my hubby really liked it! Thanks, NurseDi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      I loved this chicken...it was so easy and so good! It was the first time I used rosemary and the flavor it added was wonderful. Served it with a lemon garlic spinach and they went great together. The next day it tasted just as good, I added the meat to some rice and made a little bit of a sauce with the drippings from the pan...two easy, delicious meals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      Outstanding roasted chicken. The lemon is really a key ingredient. Produced very moist and tender meat with a lovely flavor. Just like the name suggests, this is perfect for a family Sunday dinner. This is one incredible recipe. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      Di, I absolutely LOVE this chicken! We all did, except my 2(4 and 7 yr old) young vegetarians, lol. I prepared it exactly as stated in the recipe--baked for 1 hour at 400°. I didn't want it to dry out, so I then turned the oven down to 325° for another 15 minutes. Tender and juicy, and SO much flavor! The lemon makes such a difference--it flavors the meat from the inside. Thanks for an incredible recipe! I'll be making this one again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sunday Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (440 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 767.8
     
    Calories from Fat 492
    64%
    Total Fat 54.7 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 255.3 mg
    85%
    Sodium 239.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 63.6 g
    127%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites