19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can't tell you how good this was. The meat was literally falling off the bone when we went to carve it and the skin (my favourite part) was mouth-wateringly tasty. Considering we got enough from this for two big supper plates, my lunch for work the next day, a couple cups of leftover meat and the carcass to make stock with, I think it was very good value too.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville February 18, 2003

I made this for Sunday dinner actually. This was so easy and turned out very well. The chicken meat was very moist. The outer skin was nice and crisp. The lemony flavor and creole seasoning made a good combination of flavors. Thanks Nurse Di and Emeril!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PixieDust September 20, 2002

Incredible roast chicken. Very easy to prepare. I followed the recipe to a tee. Wonderfully seasoned with the lemon and creole seasoning. A perfect combination in our opinion. The chicken meat was so moist and tasty. Thanks for posting this.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower October 24, 2002

Yet another 5 stars. I made this last week after reading some of the reviews and I am so glad that I did. I have a chicken roasting rack which certainly helps with browning and excess fat drippings. I had a rather large bird, 6lbs so doubled the ingredients. What a treat. The out come was a beautifully browned succulent bird. You have a winner here!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher March 09, 2003

Made this for my Sunday dinner. LOL The house was filled with wonderful aroma and the flavor of the chicken was great. I doubled the recipe because I had a six pound chicken. I also placed extra rosemary sprigs in the cavity. Next time I will lift the skin and placed the spices under it for added flavor.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M March 16, 2003

After all the raves I just had to try this recipe. I made it on Sunday 'cause, well, just 'cause that's what it says. Really easy and delish. Saved the bones and made stock.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff March 31, 2003

Truly I was surprised at how well this turned out. When I was making it, my mother actually peered into the roasting pan and advised me to add water. I, having tried Di's recipes before, knew to trust the recipe. It was wonderful! Moist and flavorful. I don't know what creole seasoning is, and couldn't find it anyway, so I bought cajun seasoning. My guests loved it. Served with basmati rice and roasted asparagus. Yum!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl March 23, 2003

Cher recommended this recipe to me, and I am so grateful. I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. I did change one thing, I made it on a rotisserie, which only enhanced the flavor I am sure. The combination of flavors was tremendous, and it was so tender, it basically fell apart when I took it off the skewers. The smell of it cooking was 5 stars alone! Really amazing chicken recipe Nurse Di, I will definately be making this one again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty March 18, 2003

This was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. The chicken was moist and tender. It did take a little longer to cook then said but I tend to think that was my ovens fault. Think I need a oven thermomater to check it. I sliced the left over for sandwiches, and am cooking the bones, think it will be chicken stew. What ever it turns out to be it sure is making my house smell yummy. Thanks for the great recipe. Iva

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iva Day February 25, 2003

This made a yummy, delicious chicken dinner. I thought it was easy, too. Smelled wonderful while roasting, mainly because of the rosemary. A wonderful blend of flavors and spices. The chicken meat was very moist and tender. A hit with my family and we thank you.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ainsleydoll February 14, 2003
Sunday Chicken