Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Southern Country Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Country Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2014

      It turned out delicious. I did add one tbsp of sugar (I grew up on Jiffy. I had a hard time imagining cornbread with no sugar!). It was great and I think next time I'll be ready to completely omit the sugar. We did not have a skillet so I used an aluminum pan and it worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      This is an excellent Southern Cornbread recipe. It turned our a little too salty for me, so I think when I make it the next time (and there will be a next time) that I will decrease the salt a little. Thanks for a good moist cornbread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Absolutely perfect cornbread. I didn't change a thing. I've been looking for this recipe for years! I didn't grow up making cornbread like so many lucky southern girls do. This recipe got stuck on the inside of a cabinet door - where all the keepers go - until I learn it by heart. Which I will. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      Simple to make, delicious & we loved the fact it has no sugar because sweet cornbread seems not quite right when served with chilli. Only changes: butter because we didn't have shortening or similar; and I used plain milk before I realised your recipe said buttermilk. Thanks Jessica for replicating & sharing your Grandpa's recipe, my Hubby wants to make some more now! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      Absolutely delicious cornbread, I agree, never add sugar..i don't know how your grandpa's could have been better. I'd love to have you biscuit recipe... thanks for the cornbread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      What's not to love about cornbread!!!??? Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Delicious! I used bacon drippings and a cast iron pan. I made my own buttermilk with vinegar.Using the cast iron made the cornbread nice and golden brown. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      Awesome cornbread! Don't cry hun! I didnt add any sugar! This is outstanding as is! Thanks Jessica and Jessica's grandpa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      The only way to do cornbread,was raised in the south and we always did it like this.A great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      This is truly an outstanding cornbread. True southern delight. And Jessica you don't have to cry because I wouldn't think of adding sugar. Just excellent. thanks. I think I've found my cornbread for my crockpot dressing for Thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Country Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.9
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    38%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 87.5 mg
    29%
    Sodium 1048.6 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes