Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Buttermilk Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    518 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 518

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2002

      Luscious, melt in your mouth, buttery biscuits! The dough was easy to handle and cut which made it possible for my 6 year old to help roll and cut the biscuits (she was thrilled). Your instructions were great in mentioning not to overbake by looking for a golden brown color rather than brown which saved me from baking the biscuits too long. Best yet, my 12 year old actually ate an entire biscuit and she's about as picky as they come. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      These biscuits were exceptional: tender and moist. The instructions were easy to follow and clear, and my biscuits were perfectly golden brown after the stated 10 minutes. My yield was exactly 24, and the entire plate was devoured by myself, my hubby, and our 2 dinner guests. (Biscuits are not all that common here in Canada and seem to be a real treat; my girlfriend's husband couldn't get enough and demanded my friend get the recipe.) My only variation was due to the fact that I was out of unsalted butter, so I used regular butter and cut back on the salt. While I do use buttermilk to bake with, I had never made biscuits with it; that's going to change from now on, as this recipe will become one of my standards.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      Delicious, light and tender biscuits... this is my default recipe for biscuits!! I even passed the recipe on to my sister's Very Southern MIL, and she uses it as her default recipe too. DO NOT skimp on the butter... and handle them as gently as possible! I usually do fold the dough over a few times while lightly kneading in order to get those layers that I love. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      I think with this recipe I could make my grandmother (the ultimate biscuit maker in my family) proud !!! I have made them twice and both times they were perfect. I think this must be a NO-FAIL recipe !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      You can freeze the butter (I put the whole stick in the freezer). Run the frozen butter over a grate, medium holes, then stir the butter in the flour mixture. Much faster than pinching and probably does a better job. The dough can be cut into squares or triangles instead of using a biscuit cutter and having to reroll the scraps.

      The biggest (very, very tall) and lightest I ever had was at Bob Evans Restaurant. Unbelievable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      These are perfection!...absolute perfection!

      Thank you for sharing your family recipe. I loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      These were very, very good, but flat. Fearful of over mixing (first time biscuit maker here), I barely touced the dough and those turned out nothing like the picture here. The ones I "pieced together" at the end, expecting them to be the ones that did not turn out well, actually fluffed up a lot more than the first ones. So some mixing/kneading is definitely necessary. I think it will just take some trial and error on my part. Also I suspect my baking soda and powder are older than I realized, though that doesn't account for the second batch being fluffy and the first not. Either way, the flavor is excellent and I will be making these again and again now that the tip on the food processor worked out so well. Just be aware it is definitely possible to undermix as well as over mix. There is such heavy handed warning here about over mixing that it actually made me fearful to handle the batter. That was a mixtake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      I lived in Georgia for four years and while there, my best friend (native Georgian) tried over and over to 'teach' me to make biscuits. Well I could never get the hang of it and she didn't have a recipe...she just eyeballed everything and they came out wonderful every time! During a discussion on the boards someone mentioned they couldn't make biscuits and Mean Chef offered to teach them. Being an avid admirer of Mean Chef's skill, I knew immediately I wanted to be included in that 'Biscuit Making Class'! Today, Mean Chef took the time to walk those of us who have been 'biscuit impaired' through the process of biscuit making in Q & A (on the boards) using this recipe and I finally experienced success! Even the biscuit that was from the scraps was tender and fluffy...absolutely delicious! Thank you Mean Chef for taking the time to do this for us on 'Zaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2002

      This were a bit hit with my family. I used a food processor to make them and had no problems at all. This was the first time I made homemade biscuits and will continue to make them from this recipe again and again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      I've made these twice now and both times they were awesome! The first batch i followed the recipe exactly. The most recent batch I added a tablespoon of fresh chopped thyme to the dry mix - and they turned out amazing!! Buttery, light and flaky : )

      Method-wise, I put my bowl with all the dry stuff in the freezer for 10-15 minutes while I'm chopping up butter into pea-sized chunks (I don't have a food processor), and then put the chopped butter in the freezor for a few minutes as well. While I'm cutting in the butter and dry mix together, I freeze the buttermilk. This strategy keeps everything nice and cold.

      The perfect biscuit : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2003

      These are great biscuits, and the directions make it very easy to produce great results. I added a bit more baking powder to get some higher biscuits, but that's just personal preference. My husband and I snarfed these down one chilly Sunday morning in the kitchen, hovering over our butcher's block with jam, honey and biscuits surrounding us. We just couldn't decide which topping we preferred. I see many more taste-tests in our future with these. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2002

      These turned out fabulous! I used the food processor as suggested and they were so easy, and tasty. They were a big hit, and loved by all. I will probably use this recipe forever and ever. Thanks so much for posting it Petitfour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      Wonderful wonderful!! butermilk biscuits!! i think in the past I was handling them too much. What a difference, light flakey and tender, and easy because of your instruction. Soooo nice of you to give the lesson. Thank-you and I will certainly be making these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      Excellent recipe for delicious and fabulous results! Buttery flavor, light and flaky, these biscuits will be a hit at your next breakfast, fried chicken or ham supper! Very simple recipe and easy to follow directions. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      The key to doing this really well is in step 7 and 8. I had problems the first time I tried it. I checked out youtube and the user called foodwishes. If you watch his video, he shows how to roll it out and pat it down. His recipe is the same, otherwise. When I added the buttermilk and folded the dough like the chef explained, it worked PERFECTLY. I am happy, happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Have to say, I'm with the masses on this one! I followed this exactly, except used lard in place of the butter, and talk about flaky.....you couldn't ask for more then this. These were perfect, the directions very concise, pushing lightly down on the dough instead of using rolling pin, all the advice makes a perfect biscuit. Very light and fluffy~ a must try for any and all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      Just tried this tonight... makes a fine biscuit: Light, airy, neutral taste... fat content is not too high, so they still taste very light even at room temperature or warm for 6-8 seconds in microwave.
      Just to re-emphasize your point.. Don't Overwork.. Pat it out and cut 'em out.. only flour the immediate surface for handling and cutting. Quick and easy to make.
      I've included a pic of them on the wire rack.. note the "rough" ones that I just pushed back together and cut from scraps.. still very light as I didn't work them at all... used every bit of dough.
      Next time I want to try the "freeze and use later" hint to see what I think... I don't.. rather SHOULDN'T... eat that many biscuits at one time.. :D
      Made an old fashioned bacon-grease gravy (since I was making bacon too..hehe) to go with it and easy over eggs with home-made yogurt.. a fine meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      I made these and added sharp chedder and garlic. Very Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      Oh wow! I was part of the Biscuit Making Class, too, and was in biscuit heaven when they came out of the oven. Couldn't have been easier, and they were light and tasty and wonderful. Thanks for the instruction!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      These are delicious!
      So I used the aluminum baking powder and the salted butter (I didn't have what It specifically asked for...) and they still turned out GREAT!
      Great fresh out of the oven with homemade jam or jelly :)
      I also recommend brushing with melted butter before. It makes they nice and crispy on the edges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 26

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Buttermilk Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (601 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.5
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    40%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 19.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 400.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites