12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Five Star because its tough to find a decent Vinegar based Mustard sauce. This is good basic and you can Tweek it to suit your own tastes. I have a better one but it has about ten times the Butter thats in this one and it is SO unhealthy. One Hint - -Boil the Vinegar separately before adding other ingredients and it will tone down the Vinegar taste. Thanks for the recipe, it does qualify as SOUTH Carolina Sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hddavis39_9587160 February 12, 2015

Its satisfactory nothing special. Leave out the hot sauce and add a little red pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pgrass January 24, 2015

Omg..... best sauce ever. My boyfriend loves it... it is now in my recipe book... thank you for it...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrissysalove January 05, 2015

This was a delicious sauce recipe, though I like mine a bit sweeter so I added some extra brown sugar. I paired it with some savory mashed sweet potatoes and pulled pork.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matthew Boettcher August 07, 2014

One of my new favorites! So easy and yum, yum, yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy E. July 07, 2014

Mmmmmm. Served with fried chicken breast strips and everyone loved it. After tasting it, I added a bit more brown sugar than called for - probably because we're not from the Carolina's, and we tend to like sauces a little sweeter. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boomerthepug April 22, 2014

Delicious. I've had mustard based bbq sauce before at pit style bbq restaurants, but never tried to make it myself before now. I let this simmer the full 30 minutes, whisking every few minutes keep it smooth. Tangy with a hint of sweet from the brown sugar, and thickened up perfectly to top sandwiches or to baste while grilling. Served this on leftover Carolina style pulled pork roast sandwiches with onion rolls. Already planning other things to make to go with this. Thanks for sharing. Update: equally great using Splenda and a teaspoon of blackstrap molasses to save on carbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie November 21, 2013

Yep there's my pix.....this sauce was totally awesome....and I never reviewed it until today when I went looking for it again. Going to make it again. The pix is of a double batch...and I can't wait to put it on my slow roasted Puerto rican Pork Shoulder - and my Smoked Shoulder as well. - I also thought about making some coleslaw with it.....it's just that dann good <ya know>.....props to the chef for this wonderful creation.....should be bottled and sold. But it's so easy to make, why leave the house!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heartshapedpan September 09, 2013

Awesome sauce and nice alternative to any regular barbecue sauce

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfm June 10, 2013

Wonderful, I made some pork tenderloin slices as a last minute change of plans tonight. Came home at lunch and marinated them in a simple rub, and then tonight ended up grilling them hoping to make BBQ or something similar and realizing NO BBQ sauce. Well, I just inherited lots of refrigerator items from Dad who is moving so mustard I had plenty, so this was the perfect sauce. I cooked it as I prepared, while I'll prepared some potato wedges and some acorn squash for the grill. I admit that I didn't let it cool first, but it still was great. It did cool a bit as I watered my plants, if that counts. Loved it! Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook November 04, 2009
South Carolina Mustard BBQ Sauce