Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Smoked Sausage Jambalaya Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smoked Sausage Jambalaya

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2003

      My husband and I love jambalaya with smoked sausage. We usually make it with chicken but this was very good with ground beef. It was easy to make and my family sure liked it. The garlic and green onion made this very savory in flavor. Great job. Nurse Di, we love your recipes and hope you never stop posting them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      This was very easy and so good! I pretty much followed the recipe, but instead of the salt and pepper I put in a tbsp of cajun seasoning. I didn't have green onions so I used a yellow onion chopped up. It is right up there with some of the best Jambalaya that I have ever had!!! Thank you NurseDi!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      Easy and turned out well. I was surprised that there was no seasoning added other than salt an pepper, but the flavor was still good. More economical than recipes that call for shrimp. Everyone ate it and no complaints. I wasn't sure whether the tomatoes were supposed to be drained, but I didn't drain them and it was perfect (mine were diced).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

    • on December 20, 2008

      This is a really good recipe!!!! Thank you so much for sharing. To incorporate my family's taste I changed it a bit. Because we love jambalya I doubled the recipe ingredients except I did not use the ground beef. Instead I substituted 1 pound of ham cubes, 1 pound of large shrimp, 1/2 pound cooked chicken. I sauted these in olive oil before I threw it in with the rest of the ingredients Added 1 Tablespoon of Cajun seasoning and 1/2 teaspoon cumin and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne. My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Came out great! I did like someone else and instead of ground beef I used some kidney beans at the end. I also substituted chicken broth for the water. I used red bell pepper and halved the recipe which still seemed to be atleast 4-5 servings. And for some spiciness instead of salt and pepper I used a cajun seasoning and some Emeril's Essence. We like things spicy!!!! Oh and used yellow onion in lieu of the green onion. Glad I can make this from scratch instead of buying the box for jambalaya. May add some shrimp next time at the end.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This was very good; I left out the ground beef and stirred in a drained 15oz can of red beans near the end. Will alternate this Jambalaya with our other chicken version. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Easy to make and tasty as heck. Cannot wait to try this out on game night, they will love it. I used yellow onion since I did not have green onions. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      What an easy meal to make with basic ingredients you typically have on hand. I made this for some friends on poker night, and it was gone in a flash! That night I used yellow onions since the green onions were looking shabby. It was delicious...Absolutely yummy! I'm about to make another batch, and am hoping for leftovers! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I'm going to make this again tonight--for the 4th time since June--because my kids (ages 1.5 and 3 years) LOVE it! So do my husband & I. It's easy to make and very tasty. The kids like medium spice but I like it spicier so I add some red pepper flakes or Tabasco to my plateful. I also love that it's gluten free, now that DD can no longer eat gluten! Good even without the ground beef--my kids are suddenly on a "no beef" kick! Oh well...I'm sure that will change in the future! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      This was a great recipe!!! I didn't have sausage so I used ham chunck with the ground beef and I added Emerial seasoning for a little spice. Everyone loved it and it tasted wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      loved this i used chorizo sausage and i subbed cajun seasoning instead of the salt n pepper. dh took the leftovers for lunch the next day thanks for sharing a great recipe this is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      Man pleaser indeed!! I had little smokies and already-cooked rice in the freezer so this came together in no time. DH LOVED it, even if he did pick out the green peppers. I had cut them kind of large so he could. I served this with some corn bread. YUM. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2003

      We are big fans of Jambalaya in our house after spending 3 1/2 years of our lives in Louisiana. This was a very good, very easy version of jambalaya. I especially liked the additions of ground beef and tomatoes in this as a different twist. The recipe was very accurate too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      Sausage flavor too strong for my family. They didn't like it. Will try again using a different sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smoked Sausage Jambalaya

    Serving Size: 1 (408 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 820.4
     
    Calories from Fat 449
    54%
    Total Fat 49.9 g
    76%
    Saturated Fat 17.4 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 146.5 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1323.0 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 40.4 g
    80%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites