187 Reviews

I found this recipe after making an impulse buy of bone-in short ribs late this afternoon. Being new here, I decided to try a recipe rather than use one of my own. This recipe looked interesting, but there was not enough time to cook them in a slow-cooker so I made them in the oven: 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. I made a few modifications to the recipe (besides using the oven and bone-in short ribs) which I shall definitely do again. First, I do not have a sweet tooth, so I drastically cut the amount of brown sugar. I decided to gradually add brown sugar to the rest of the mixture so I started with just under 1/4 cup brown sugar (packed a 1/4 cup measure to about 1/3" from the top). I liked the taste of the sauce with this amount so I stopped adding more. The other modifications I made were: 1. Instead of 3/4 cup wine vinegar, I used 1/2 cup wine vinegar and 1/4 cup cider vinegar. 2. The recipe calls for 1 cup beef broth. I used an entire can of double strength Beef Broth, 10 1/2 ounces. For preparation: 1. I browned the short ribs in vegetable oil. Using short ribs with bones, there is more fat in them (than in the original recipe) and I wanted to discard the fat before continuing with the sauce. 2. I put the ribs in a Pyrex dish large enough for the ribs to sit beneath the rim and stuck them in the preheated, 350 oven while making the sauce. 3. I poured all the fat/oil out of the browning pan, but left all the brown flour. To this I added 2 Tbs. butter and sauteed the chopped onion a bit while measuring then adding the other ingredients. The brown sugar was added last. 4. When the sauce was done, I took the ribs out of the oven, covered them with sauce, then tightly sealed the dish with tin foil. 5. After one hour I removed the ribs from the oven, removed all fat on the surface, turned the ribs over, then put them back in the oven for another 1/2 hour. I will definitely make these again. I'm pretty sure the short ribs would have been done in 1 1/4 hours, but I was disorganized and had forgotten to start cooking anything to go with them. Oh, I could not get all the sauce in the baking dish I used. I probably have about a cup left. I intend to marinate chicken pieces in the left over sauce then cook them on the grill this weekend.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn in RI August 21, 2003

This was REALLY good, Inez!! I was in a bit of a hurry - so I did high for 4 hours, then low for 1 1/2 - turned out fabulous! This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing!!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing January 12, 2003

Yum, Yum! These were great. They were so tender with lots of flavor. Didn't need those knives as the meat would just fall apart. The family really enjoyed these and advised that the recipe is a keeper. Didn't have enough short ribs so I used some extra lean stew beef which turned out fine. I couldn't quite get it together early enough to get in the 9 hours of cooking but did make it to 7 hours.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky December 18, 2002

These were very good and tender. The sauce was great on mashed potatoes. It's a great dish for a chilly fall day!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TMF September 12, 2002

I've made this about 6 times now; it's a favorite!
My tips: 1) Preheat your crock on high as you gather the ingredients, and cook on High for at least an hour. Turn to Low. Go to work or to sleep.

2) I pour out the pan juices into a sauce pan and thicken by adding corn or potato starch. (1tbsp mixed w/ a bit of cool water, stir in, boil, and reduce.)

3) Ginger, sesame oil and some soy/ teriyaki (sp?) sauce instead of Worcestershire sauce gives a wonderful Asian slant.

Thank you for sharing!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimber M. January 27, 2011

outstanding I made a pig of myself so did the rest of the family

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bruce W. Fullerton November 23, 2002

These were fantastic! Thank you for the wonderful recipe. I must admit that I strayed from the recipe at the end. I had so many ribs that they all didn't fit in my Crockpot so I doubled the sauce and put some in the oven at 350 and let both cook. The oven ones were done a lot quicker and the sauce got nice and thick with the browning of the ribs.... for the last hour I put the ribs from the Crockpot in the oven at the 350 and let them brown and thicken. Mmmmmm this is going to be a family favorite. Thanks Again :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nascar#88Fan April 18, 2010

Oh my! DELICIOUS! DH and I devoured the entire crock pot full in ONE sitting! I did make some modifications based on other reviewers suggestions, preference, or necessity due to not having on hand what the recipe called for exactly and those are as follows: Used white whole wheat seasoned flour that I already had on hand (#426791) and omitted the additional salt and pepper. Used olive oil rather than butter for browning. Used 1 small onion, 1 green bell pepper and 1 red bell pepper b/c the peppers needed to be used before they spoiled....think I will add some celery next time too if I have it. I substituted the broth for 1 cup of sodium free beef flavored Herbox. I reduced the red wine vinegar to 1/2 cup and then added 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar. I too, reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 cup of packed homemade light brown sugar (made with 1/2 cup of evaporated cane sugar and 1/2 Tb mild flavored molasses) and used the other 1/4 cup for making chili sauce (#52689) from scratch b/c I didn't have any. I preheated the crock pot and cooked on high for 2 hours and low for 5 hours, however it was slightly too long as the beef really was falling apart more than we would normally like, so I will likely reduce that to 1 hour high and 5 hours low next time. I also thickened the sauce during the last 30 minutes or so of cooking time by adding approx 1/2 cup of a corn starch slurry. Served over garlic mashed potatoes and a fresh green salad. Simply one of the most delicious meals EVER! Thank you so much for posting!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LKAFraz September 28, 2012

Great success with my family!!! I used bone-in short ribs, a little over 3 lbs. I did not have chili sauce so I used extra catsup and 1 tablespoon of Sriracha. I followed all the directions except I cooked on high in my large crockpot for 5 1/2 hours and then I removed the ribs from the meat (very easily!) and defatted the sauce (tremendous amount of fat) and put it all back into the crock pot on warm. I made mashed potatoes and that was great to soak up the sauce, which was very sweet and not spicy. My picky teenagers ate it up and were asking for seconds. No leftovers! Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pnayak1 January 10, 2011

Make that 5 stars ! I believe you now that these are GOOD !
I had just a couple of changes.....I didn't have red wine vinegar and used apple cider instead. I used chopped garlic in chili oil for a little spice.
When I sauted the onions, I added some chopped mushrooms and green peppers..(would also be good with some spicer peppers.) I don't think any of my changes altered the recipe though, and we loved it.
I agree that this sauce is perfect for chicken or pork too, (in fact an old boot would taste good in this sauce..LOL.)
This is a recipe I will keep close by to use a lot. Oh, forgot that I did mine in the oven,tightly covered for about 3 hrs, and they were perfect.I served it over noodles. THANK YOU for this one.
I am going to try browning the ribs on the stove first to eliminate some of the grease as they are cooking in the oven or crockpot. After seeing this suggestion in the reviews it seems it will eliminating some of the grease that I have to remove at the end. Donna

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnie27 September 24, 2010
Slow-Cooker Beef Short Ribs