Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Southern / Slow-Cooker Beef Short Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow-Cooker Beef Short Ribs

    Average Rating:

    179 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 179

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2003

      I found this recipe after making an impulse buy of bone-in short ribs late this afternoon. Being new here, I decided to try a recipe rather than use one of my own. This recipe looked interesting, but there was not enough time to cook them in a slow-cooker so I made them in the oven: 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. I made a few modifications to the recipe (besides using the oven and bone-in short ribs) which I shall definitely do again. First, I do not have a sweet tooth, so I drastically cut the amount of brown sugar. I decided to gradually add brown sugar to the rest of the mixture so I started with just under 1/4 cup brown sugar (packed a 1/4 cup measure to about 1/3" from the top). I liked the taste of the sauce with this amount so I stopped adding more. The other modifications I made were: 1. Instead of 3/4 cup wine vinegar, I used 1/2 cup wine vinegar and 1/4 cup cider vinegar. 2. The recipe calls for 1 cup beef broth. I used an entire can of double strength Beef Broth, 10 1/2 ounces. For preparation: 1. I browned the short ribs in vegetable oil. Using short ribs with bones, there is more fat in them (than in the original recipe) and I wanted to discard the fat before continuing with the sauce. 2. I put the ribs in a Pyrex dish large enough for the ribs to sit beneath the rim and stuck them in the preheated, 350 oven while making the sauce. 3. I poured all the fat/oil out of the browning pan, but left all the brown flour. To this I added 2 Tbs. butter and sauteed the chopped onion a bit while measuring then adding the other ingredients. The brown sugar was added last. 4. When the sauce was done, I took the ribs out of the oven, covered them with sauce, then tightly sealed the dish with tin foil. 5. After one hour I removed the ribs from the oven, removed all fat on the surface, turned the ribs over, then put them back in the oven for another 1/2 hour. I will definitely make these again. I'm pretty sure the short ribs would have been done in 1 1/4 hours, but I was disorganized and had forgotten to start cooking anything to go with them. Oh, I could not get all the sauce in the baking dish I used. I probably have about a cup left. I intend to marinate chicken pieces in the left over sauce then cook them on the grill this weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      This was REALLY good, Inez!! I was in a bit of a hurry - so I did high for 4 hours, then low for 1 1/2 - turned out fabulous! This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2002

      Yum, Yum! These were great. They were so tender with lots of flavor. Didn't need those knives as the meat would just fall apart. The family really enjoyed these and advised that the recipe is a keeper. Didn't have enough short ribs so I used some extra lean stew beef which turned out fine. I couldn't quite get it together early enough to get in the 9 hours of cooking but did make it to 7 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      These were very good and tender. The sauce was great on mashed potatoes. It's a great dish for a chilly fall day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2002

      outstanding I made a pig of myself so did the rest of the family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      I've made this about 6 times now; it's a favorite!
      My tips: 1) Preheat your crock on high as you gather the ingredients, and cook on High for at least an hour. Turn to Low. Go to work or to sleep.

      2) I pour out the pan juices into a sauce pan and thicken by adding corn or potato starch. (1tbsp mixed w/ a bit of cool water, stir in, boil, and reduce.)

      3) Ginger, sesame oil and some soy/ teriyaki (sp?) sauce instead of Worcestershire sauce gives a wonderful Asian slant.

      Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Great success with my family!!! I used bone-in short ribs, a little over 3 lbs. I did not have chili sauce so I used extra catsup and 1 tablespoon of Sriracha. I followed all the directions except I cooked on high in my large crockpot for 5 1/2 hours and then I removed the ribs from the meat (very easily!) and defatted the sauce (tremendous amount of fat) and put it all back into the crock pot on warm. I made mashed potatoes and that was great to soak up the sauce, which was very sweet and not spicy. My picky teenagers ate it up and were asking for seconds. No leftovers! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      Oh my! DELICIOUS! DH and I devoured the entire crock pot full in ONE sitting! I did make some modifications based on other reviewers suggestions, preference, or necessity due to not having on hand what the recipe called for exactly and those are as follows: Used white whole wheat seasoned flour that I already had on hand (#426791) and omitted the additional salt and pepper. Used olive oil rather than butter for browning. Used 1 small onion, 1 green bell pepper and 1 red bell pepper b/c the peppers needed to be used before they spoiled....think I will add some celery next time too if I have it. I substituted the broth for 1 cup of sodium free beef flavored Herbox. I reduced the red wine vinegar to 1/2 cup and then added 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar. I too, reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 cup of packed homemade light brown sugar (made with 1/2 cup of evaporated cane sugar and 1/2 Tb mild flavored molasses) and used the other 1/4 cup for making chili sauce (#52689) from scratch b/c I didn't have any. I preheated the crock pot and cooked on high for 2 hours and low for 5 hours, however it was slightly too long as the beef really was falling apart more than we would normally like, so I will likely reduce that to 1 hour high and 5 hours low next time. I also thickened the sauce during the last 30 minutes or so of cooking time by adding approx 1/2 cup of a corn starch slurry. Served over garlic mashed potatoes and a fresh green salad. Simply one of the most delicious meals EVER! Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Delicious as fully expected from a MizzNezz recipe ;)! I purchased only 1.5 lbs of ribs as I cooked only for me. I prepared the sauce as directed using minced onions because I thought I had an onion, but not so (senior moment). I cooked on high for 1 hour, then on low for 4 hours and mine were done to perfection. I will say there is a flavor in the sauce that I cannot put my finger on, but I didn't care for it. I would guess it may be the red wine vinegar since that is the only ingredient that I have not used very much and am not that familiar with in a sauce. However, it was still very good and will definitely make again, perhaps not using red wine vinegar just to see if I am correct about the flavor. Thanks for the keeper MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Make that 5 stars ! I believe you now that these are GOOD !
      I had just a couple of changes.....I didn't have red wine vinegar and used apple cider instead. I used chopped garlic in chili oil for a little spice.
      When I sauted the onions, I added some chopped mushrooms and green peppers..(would also be good with some spicer peppers.) I don't think any of my changes altered the recipe though, and we loved it.
      I agree that this sauce is perfect for chicken or pork too, (in fact an old boot would taste good in this sauce..LOL.)
      This is a recipe I will keep close by to use a lot. Oh, forgot that I did mine in the oven,tightly covered for about 3 hrs, and they were perfect.I served it over noodles. THANK YOU for this one.
      I am going to try browning the ribs on the stove first to eliminate some of the grease as they are cooking in the oven or crockpot. After seeing this suggestion in the reviews it seems it will eliminating some of the grease that I have to remove at the end. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      These were fantastic! Thank you for the wonderful recipe. I must admit that I strayed from the recipe at the end. I had so many ribs that they all didn't fit in my Crockpot so I doubled the sauce and put some in the oven at 350 and let both cook. The oven ones were done a lot quicker and the sauce got nice and thick with the browning of the ribs.... for the last hour I put the ribs from the Crockpot in the oven at the 350 and let them brown and thicken. Mmmmmm this is going to be a family favorite. Thanks Again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      MizzNezz, I made beef roasts using your wonderful sauce recipe tonight, it was just to die for, the roasts were just absoutely so juicy and had so much flavor. I browned the roasts first, and I doubled the sauce recipe and cooked the roasts in the oven on a very slow heat 300 degrees F, I actually made two roasts in the same roaster, as I will slice one up for roast beef sandwiches, DH said it was one of his best meals, I made homemade french fries and veggies to serve along the side, what a wonderful dinner! Thanks so much for posting another winner, I will try your recipe with short ribs next! Thanks, Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      I followed the recipe exactly. The ribs smelled and tasted good, but something was missing from the taste and sauce was a little oily. Sorry I can't be more specific about the cause.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      This is an amazing recipe! The sauce is to die for! I made it with pork ribs, and half garlic chili oil and half Siracha sauce and served with the wide egg noodles. I plan to make this again with a roast. Thank you MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      I have never made beef shortribs before so I picked this recipe because of all great reviews.
      All I have to say it was delicious as all of her recipes are as I have tried!
      I read the reviews first & doubled the sauce but cut the red wine vinegar in 1/2 as I don't usually cook with it.
      I bought a pkg. of ribs at Costco which had 4 boneless ribs in it without much fat at all.
      I started it yesterday evening, cooked it 4 hours cooled it & put it in the fridge overnight.
      Took it out late this morning scraped off a tiny bit of fat & put it back in the crockpot, cooked for 4 more hours, until fork tender.I turned the crockpot to high & the sauce got nice & thick.
      The sauce was wonderful, very tasty, lick you plate clean!
      I made mashed potatoes with ribs since I think that go best with it.
      I only use olive oil (no butter) to brown the ribs.
      Thanks for posting such a great recipe, the only one I'll use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Great Ribs!! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. I started my crock pot on high for about 2 hours and then on low for about 4 hours. I took the ribs out after cooking and put juice and sauce in a fat separator and the sauce came out perfect. Just added all the ingredients back into the pot and simmered for about 20 min. to thicken sauce. Thanks for the great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      I made this recipe last night, and it was AWESOME!!!!! I did not put all of the ingredients in, due to not having them in my cabinet, but it still came out great. I also added spicy brown mustard, and I am a fan of letting my meat marinate before I cook it. I will definitely be saving this into my favorites and making this a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I adapted this recipe somewhat; I live alone and have a 2.5 quart crock pot. I downsized the quantities of the ingredients to fit the size of the crock pot, all to taste. I omitted the chili sauce and garlic and substituted a bit of tomato sauce and added a generous amount of an oriental Chili Puree with Garlic, all other ingredients per the recipe. I had to use bone-in short ribs as I could not find boneless. I also omitted the butter in an attempt to reduce the some of the fat mentioned by other reviewers. I added a bit of olive oil to a non-stick pan to brown the short ribs. I drained and blotted the ribs with paper towel and drained the fat from the pan before proceeding with the recipe. In the end It was still very fatty, tasty but fatty. I skimmed the excess fat. I enjoyed this but I doubt I would make this again due to the amount of fat although I might try a different cut of meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2003

      I used bone-in, country-style ribs. The smell and the flavor were wonderful! 9 hours may be too long as everything had fallen off the bones and I had to spoon it out in pieces, but it was worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      This is the first time I made ribs in the Crock Pot - I did not know what to expect and was a little apprehensive - no need to be! I modified the recipe slightly by adding paprika to the flour and used soy sauce instead of Worcestershire sauce but followed the rest of the recipe. I only had 1 1/2 pound of ribs so it cooked faster and was done in 6 hours, even on low. The ribs where sooo delicious, so moist, the meat fell off the bones and the sauce was fabulous! I served it over yellow rice, it was a totally wonderful meal! I emailed the recipe and picture to a friend in Austria who just got her first "Crocky", as she calls it, she can't wait to make it! Thanks for posting, MizzNezz!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow-Cooker Beef Short Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 976.7
     
    Calories from Fat 688
    70%
    Total Fat 76.4 g
    117%
    Saturated Fat 34.7 g
    173%
    Cholesterol 163.9 mg
    54%
    Sodium 979.1 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 30.8 g
    123%
    Protein 29.4 g
    58%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites