630 Reviews

I have no business cooking. I have no idea what I'm doing, so I find recipes on Recipezaar with high ratings, scour the comments for hints and say a little prayer before any attempts in the kitchen. While these potatoes are delicious, I thought I would share what I learned in case there is anyone as desperately in need of help in the kitchen as me. First, I bought a mandolin specifically for this recipe, and I'm glad I did. Saved me A LOT of time. However, in putting half the potatoes in, I didn't separate them carefully enough... so in some cases, it was as though the slices were three times what they ought to have been. DUH. Next time, I will take the time and care to lay the potatoes out in a single layer with a tiny bit of sauce alternating each layer to keep them from sticking together and not cooking thoroughly. Next, I made this recipe the day before because I've heard they taste better the second day. The first day, I tasted them and was worried that in putting the amount of salt called for in the recipe in that I had over-salted and ruined them. But the next day, they weren't salty at all - they were perfect. (I cooked them the full hour; the next day, let them come to room temperature for an hour and then re-heated them at 350 for 30 minutes. Due to my not separating the slices enough, some of the potatoes were STILL not quite done.) But if I were to plan to eat them the same day, I would cut way down on the salt. Hope no one needs as much help in the kitchen as me (if they do, they probably need another adult to watch them to ensure they don't end up killing themselves in a tragic vegetable-peeler-incident), but if so, hope this was helpful. Overall, this is an amazing recipe that even *I* couldn't ruin!

143 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tobey_day December 27, 2009

This was awesome! I didn't use 4 cups of potatoes, maybe 2 1/2. But it was only for my husband, toddler and me. I did add a dash of garlic powder, a squirt of prepared mustard and a little black pepper, about 1/3 c. minced onion, and used a Cheddar-Monterrey Jack cheese blend. This was the best scalloped potato recipe I have ever used! I cannot wait to make it again!

58 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Ali L February 02, 2011

HOORAY! This was awesome, and by slicing my potatoes with the food processor, REALLY quick to make (seriously, it only took me like 1 minute to slice all my potatoes--and they were even thickness). The cheese sauce came together / quickly nicely as well. I used regular butter but 2% sharp cheddar, with good results. I split the casserole into two 8x8's and put one in the freezer for another dinner. Will definitely make this again!

47 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn's Cookin' December 11, 2010

Just a quick restaurant tip...as has been said a food processor works great, but if you use the plunger the slices tend to cut thicker, we just let the potato sit under it's own weight to slice w/ the processor for nice thin slices.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barry carlton December 25, 2012

These were amazing! I doubled everything (except the cheese...I quadrupled that!) to make a 9x13 pan. I also added ham per hubby's request. He paid me the highest compliment a wife can get...he said it was better than his mom's! *lol* Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's a keeper!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisyprincess98 March 16, 2010

I also used over 2 cups of cheese. I also used Yukon Gold potatoes and left the skins on the slices. The buttery flavor of the Yukon gold is always a compliment to such a cheesy dish! (Actually I use Yukon Gold for everything, they're awesome!) Very easy to make and a big hit! Btw dont be afraid of the cayenne, couldnt even taste it at recipe-strength.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristen M. July 20, 2009

Here comes # 407.... I doubled the recipe using 1 cup light cream and 2% milk for the other 2 cups. Also added some left over Easter ham and used some shredded Jarlsburg cheese. I sauteed two shallots in the butter while making the white sauce. It's an excellent scalloped potato recipe...such a great comfort food. Thanks for posting it,

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosepot April 25, 2011

This was one of the best Scalloped Potatoes recipe I have found. Normally my taters turn out watery. Not so with this one. I did add one clove minced garlic, 3/4 teaspoon of fresh rosemary, minced, and used sharp white cheddar cheese. Next time I will add some chopped onion. IndyEater's idea for caramalized onion sounds great. Thank you VickiG

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GregV March 23, 2011

This has become my standard recipe for scalloped potatoes. It has received very positive feedback when I have served it to guests and has become my son's favorite potato dish despite the fact that he never before liked scalloped potatoes at all. I always add some finely sliced onion as well. I try not to make it frequently as I am too tempted to over-indulge! Update: I use fat reduced cheddar, fat-free milk and a heart healthy margarine - tastes great even with these modifications.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather in Barrie November 02, 2010

Thank you Vicki for this wonderful recipe. We all loved it. I added sautée onions between the layers of potatoes. I certainly will make it again.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midauph October 03, 2010
Scalloped Potatoes