Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Scalloped Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scalloped Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    594 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 594

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2009

      I have no business cooking. I have no idea what I'm doing, so I find recipes on Recipezaar with high ratings, scour the comments for hints and say a little prayer before any attempts in the kitchen. While these potatoes are delicious, I thought I would share what I learned in case there is anyone as desperately in need of help in the kitchen as me. First, I bought a mandolin specifically for this recipe, and I'm glad I did. Saved me A LOT of time. However, in putting half the potatoes in, I didn't separate them carefully enough... so in some cases, it was as though the slices were three times what they ought to have been. DUH. Next time, I will take the time and care to lay the potatoes out in a single layer with a tiny bit of sauce alternating each layer to keep them from sticking together and not cooking thoroughly. Next, I made this recipe the day before because I've heard they taste better the second day. The first day, I tasted them and was worried that in putting the amount of salt called for in the recipe in that I had over-salted and ruined them. But the next day, they weren't salty at all - they were perfect. (I cooked them the full hour; the next day, let them come to room temperature for an hour and then re-heated them at 350 for 30 minutes. Due to my not separating the slices enough, some of the potatoes were STILL not quite done.) But if I were to plan to eat them the same day, I would cut way down on the salt. Hope no one needs as much help in the kitchen as me (if they do, they probably need another adult to watch them to ensure they don't end up killing themselves in a tragic vegetable-peeler-incident), but if so, hope this was helpful. Overall, this is an amazing recipe that even *I* couldn't ruin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      This was awesome! I didn't use 4 cups of potatoes, maybe 2 1/2. But it was only for my husband, toddler and me. I did add a dash of garlic powder, a squirt of prepared mustard and a little black pepper, about 1/3 c. minced onion, and used a Cheddar-Monterrey Jack cheese blend. This was the best scalloped potato recipe I have ever used! I cannot wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      HOORAY! This was awesome, and by slicing my potatoes with the food processor, REALLY quick to make (seriously, it only took me like 1 minute to slice all my potatoes--and they were even thickness). The cheese sauce came together / quickly nicely as well. I used regular butter but 2% sharp cheddar, with good results. I split the casserole into two 8x8's and put one in the freezer for another dinner. Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      Just a quick restaurant tip...as has been said a food processor works great, but if you use the plunger the slices tend to cut thicker, we just let the potato sit under it's own weight to slice w/ the processor for nice thin slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      These were amazing! I doubled everything (except the cheese...I quadrupled that!) to make a 9x13 pan. I also added ham per hubby's request. He paid me the highest compliment a wife can get...he said it was better than his mom's! *lol* Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      I also used over 2 cups of cheese. I also used Yukon Gold potatoes and left the skins on the slices. The buttery flavor of the Yukon gold is always a compliment to such a cheesy dish! (Actually I use Yukon Gold for everything, they're awesome!) Very easy to make and a big hit! Btw dont be afraid of the cayenne, couldnt even taste it at recipe-strength.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Here comes # 407.... I doubled the recipe using 1 cup light cream and 2% milk for the other 2 cups. Also added some left over Easter ham and used some shredded Jarlsburg cheese. I sauteed two shallots in the butter while making the white sauce. It's an excellent scalloped potato recipe...such a great comfort food. Thanks for posting it,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      This has become my standard recipe for scalloped potatoes. It has received very positive feedback when I have served it to guests and has become my son's favorite potato dish despite the fact that he never before liked scalloped potatoes at all. I always add some finely sliced onion as well. I try not to make it frequently as I am too tempted to over-indulge! Update: I use fat reduced cheddar, fat-free milk and a heart healthy margarine - tastes great even with these modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      Thank you Vicki for this wonderful recipe. We all loved it. I added sautée onions between the layers of potatoes. I certainly will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      This was one of the best Scalloped Potatoes recipe I have found. Normally my taters turn out watery. Not so with this one. I did add one clove minced garlic, 3/4 teaspoon of fresh rosemary, minced, and used sharp white cheddar cheese. Next time I will add some chopped onion. IndyEater's idea for caramalized onion sounds great. Thank you VickiG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      Wow, this recipe was simple...I used some Old Bay seasoning instead of the cayenne pepper. and a pinch of black pepper too...it came out so good...my family ate it all up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Have made these potatoes for several parties and a few dinners at home and always get requests for the recipe. They are great! I used my food processor to slice the potatoes which made prep even easier. Lots of great flavor especially considering the small amount of time they take to make. I think it's important to use a good sharp cheddar cheese so there is plenty of flavor to the sauce. You could add garlic or onions and they would taste good but they are excellent as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Made these for the first time to go with Christmas ham and got raves from everyone. My changes: I used half sharp cheddar and half swiss gruyere; added a layer of thinly sliced onion (for texture) and used one part cream to two parts milk (it was skim milk, so don't sue me for substituting cream). Next time a tiny bit more cayenne or hot pepper sauce to give it a little more kick. So easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      I was looking for an easy scallop potato recipe since i lost my Betty Crocker cookbook. I saw this and was surprised that I had all the ingredients in my refrigerator. So I decided to try it. I have a food processor but thought that I would try to cut the potatoes thinly with my knife and since I have only one hand it wasn't that bad to do surprisingly. So I followed the directions and decided to add a few more ingredients like onions, and bacon bits.. My whole kitchen smelled so good.. I was very happy with the turn out. I did not separate the potatoes like others I finely sliced them and put them in the dish. Added the sauce and added a little more cheese on top. Oh my goodness they were great.. not too much salt, like little red riding hood... they were just right. I can wait until tomorrow when they say they are better.. son't know if they can get any better than they were tonight.. PS I usually don't write a review for anything.. but I just had to do it here... have a blessed day :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      I made this with reduced fat sharp cheddar and skim milk and it still tasted very rich. We had it as an entree with a side salad and steamed green beans. I will definitely be making this again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      ok, so i was super desperate one night when it was time to make dinner. mind you, i am a stay-home mom and did not want to go to the grocery store. so i used what i had. i ended up using 1/2 the amount of cheddar and subbed the other 1/2 with pepper jack. and as i started, i looked in my cupboard for flour and realized i was all out. so i subbed that with masa corn flour and WOW!!! came out amazing!! the sauce was delicious and the texture was so creamy.... thanks for sharing the recipe! try my way too and let me know what you think sometime :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      This was absolutely fantastic! I added chopped garlic to the sauce and sauteed onions to the sliced potatoes. This one is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      Made this tonight and it was amazing. I made it exactly to the recipe and wouldn't change a thing about it. My hubby raved about it and said it was the best he ever had. Thank you for sharing. This will be a staple side dish now :) I dished it within 5 minutes of being out of the oven and it was good. But when we went back for 2nds, it was BETTER! Next time, I'll let it sit about 10 minutes or so before dishing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      Well Vicki, here's review #402 and a well deserved 5 stars. DH made this for our dinner last night and couldn't stop raving about it. It's so easy to prepare, goes together in minutes and can be cooking in the oven while getting the rest of the meal ready and the taste was a combo of crispy topping with a creamy, cheesy center. We served with steak, home made bread, a good red wine and ended up with one of the best dinners we've had lately. Thanks so much for posting, this will be a regular in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      This is a great, decadent, and rich scalloped potatoes recipe! My mother and I decided to make this recipe one night and we doubled it to make a larger batch. We pretty much went by the recipe and added in some chopped onion, along with flavoring the milk/cheese mixture well with S&P and garlic powder. This came out so rich that it tasted like it was made with cream and not low fat milk. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 30

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scalloped Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.2
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    52%
    Total Fat 16.6 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 49.6 mg
    16%
    Sodium 682.1 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites