25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I Like It! Rustic is the right word and I will make it again. I used soy milk - no problem. Didn't miss the flour either. I used a silocon pan-no problem. I may toy with using soy flour, jalepenos, cheddar cheese or cinnamon. Will make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsoe2001 June 20, 2009

Rustic! Yes!
Beautiful presentation, loved heating up the pan before baking, something I've never done before.
The flavor was amazing, and as promised, somehow nutty. It tasted great served warm with a bit of butter and honey. The only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars was how dry and crumbly mine bread turned out. How do I fix this? More butter? Ease up on the dry ingredients? I'm not sure but I'll try to find out, this recipe is definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice October 04, 2011

I don't think I have ever made cornbread without flour before. This produced nicely textured cornbread with a beautiful bottom crust which is visible in the picture. DH commented that it was "fluffier" than normal cornbread. This was served along side Crescent City Red Beans & Rice (Crock-Pot). Made for *ZWT 5*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 01, 2009

this was good. the oats didnt stand out as much as i was hoping. you could hardly tell they were in there. i put in less than half the salt called for and it was still a bit salty.. i have found that whenever i bake cornbread in a cast iron pan it is WAY saltier than when in glass pan.. but i liked that this recipe called for no flour.. thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sprue January 28, 2008

A change from my usual ho-hum cornbread. I used unsalted butter & the sugar but found it a tad bit salty. Perhaps 1/2 tsp. would be just right. Served with Chipotle Beef Stew and it was just the right consistency for sopping ;-) Thanks Susie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie October 13, 2006

Fantastic. Only recommendation would be to use about half the salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. October 12, 2006

This was the perfect complement to Louisiana Shrimp Gumbo! I didn't have a cast iron pan, so I just used a 9x9 cake pan and it worked great! Made for ZWT 9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl July 24, 2013

Unfortunately, we did not enjoy this recipe. The cornbread was way too dry and was also too salty. I followed the recipe exactly. Not a winner here, I would not make this recipe again. Made for Pink Panthers on the Prowl for ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Berteig July 14, 2013

We love this recipe, esp that it's gluten free! I read the reviews and reduced the salt. I also read about the crumbles so added a teaspoon of xanthum gum. Also added half a cob of corn. Can't wait to try it with shredded cheddar....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindybee23 May 31, 2012

Tasty cornbread. The family liked this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore April 15, 2012
Rustic Oatmeal Cornbread