Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Rustic Oatmeal Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rustic Oatmeal Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2009

      I Like It! Rustic is the right word and I will make it again. I used soy milk - no problem. Didn't miss the flour either. I used a silocon pan-no problem. I may toy with using soy flour, jalepenos, cheddar cheese or cinnamon. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      Rustic! Yes!
      Beautiful presentation, loved heating up the pan before baking, something I've never done before.
      The flavor was amazing, and as promised, somehow nutty. It tasted great served warm with a bit of butter and honey. The only thing keeping me from giving 5 stars was how dry and crumbly mine bread turned out. How do I fix this? More butter? Ease up on the dry ingredients? I'm not sure but I'll try to find out, this recipe is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I don't think I have ever made cornbread without flour before. This produced nicely textured cornbread with a beautiful bottom crust which is visible in the picture. DH commented that it was "fluffier" than normal cornbread. This was served along side Crescent City Red Beans & Rice (Crock-Pot). Made for *ZWT 5*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      this was good. the oats didnt stand out as much as i was hoping. you could hardly tell they were in there. i put in less than half the salt called for and it was still a bit salty.. i have found that whenever i bake cornbread in a cast iron pan it is WAY saltier than when in glass pan.. but i liked that this recipe called for no flour.. thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      A change from my usual ho-hum cornbread. I used unsalted butter & the sugar but found it a tad bit salty. Perhaps 1/2 tsp. would be just right. Served with Chipotle Beef Stew and it was just the right consistency for sopping ;-) Thanks Susie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      Fantastic. Only recommendation would be to use about half the salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      This was the perfect complement to Louisiana Shrimp Gumbo! I didn't have a cast iron pan, so I just used a 9x9 cake pan and it worked great! Made for ZWT 9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      Unfortunately, we did not enjoy this recipe. The cornbread was way too dry and was also too salty. I followed the recipe exactly. Not a winner here, I would not make this recipe again. Made for Pink Panthers on the Prowl for ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      We love this recipe, esp that it's gluten free! I read the reviews and reduced the salt. I also read about the crumbles so added a teaspoon of xanthum gum. Also added half a cob of corn. Can't wait to try it with shredded cheddar....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      Tasty cornbread. The family liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      I really loved this cornbread! I've made other ones without flour and they've been thin, so I appreciated how hearty and thick this one is. I only use a pinch of salt. I've made it with olive oil and once with veg oil and they both turned out fine (couldn't tell the difference). I'm going to try subbing a bit of applesauce to see if it makes it less crumbly. It's perfect the first day but gets pretty crumbly the second (like most cornbread). I really appreciate that this doesn't have wheat flour in it! Thanks Susie, this is going to be a big favorite of mine!
      Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      We enjoyed this cornbread a lot. There were no leftovers after dinner. I used buttermilk and 2 tsp sugar. There was no grittiness and the oatmeal was not noticiable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      Yum! This is cornbread just as I like it--not too sweet, not too salty, and a great dense texture. I didn't notice the oatmeal at all, which is a plus in my book, and this baked beautifully in grandma's iron skillet. I only had skim milk on hand, but that wasn't a problem. I typically make my cornbread with buttermilk, so next time I might make that change. Thanks so much for posting, Susie! Made for Veg Swap 37.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

    • on October 26, 2009

      A nice cornbread that was very easy to make. I didnt have a cast iron pan so I baked it in a glass pie plate. I omitted the sugar and baked for about 25 minutes until golden brown. This cornbread seems to be a bit drier than what we are used to and I think I would add the sugar next time. The flavor was tasty and the cornbread was good with Kittencal's Weight Watcher's 2 Pts Slow Cooker Beef Chili. Thank you for sharing Susie! Made and reviewed for the Middle East & North Africa Forums Ramadan Recipe Tag 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      We all loved the texture of this cornbread and rustic or not, it was darn good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Really liked this recipe. Made 6 muffins and forgot the sugar. Still came out great. Holds together well. Going to try replacing the butter with bacon drippings next time to make it taste more like grandma's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I really liked this cornbread. Didn't miss the flour at all. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I'm a southern girl, so I was a little hesitant to put oatmeal in my cornbread. I'm glad I tried it, because this cornbread is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      I really loved this easy to prepare cornbread. I poured the batter into a silicone mold of individual cake/bar shapes, cooked it for 15 minutes, and it was perfect! Good flavor from Quaker Oats and organic corn meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rustic Oatmeal Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 204.4
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    48%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 64.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 638.4 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites