11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We had never cook a brisket before and debated between this recipe and another with high ratings. I'm glad I picked this one! Your directions were easy to follow. We were only able to marinate the brisket in the frig for about 15 hours. We cooked it on the grill with charcoal and hickory chips piled over on one side so the brisket wasn't directly near the fire. It took about 7.5 hours to reach internal temperature, then as you instructed we let it sit for 30 minutes. It was amazingly good! It's a little spicy and just perfect! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe and the easy directions!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleinHI June 07, 2011

This is without a doubt, the BEST brisket we have had yet. Even better than the BBQ places we've been to. Hubby did use mesquite, and the flavor was absolutely amazing! It fell apart and melted in our mouths! We will never cook brisket any other way!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsanchez09 February 25, 2010

low and slow is the only way to cook brisket. One caveat: avoid cherry wood as it is about the only fruit wood with a bad smoke flavor

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Chas aussi October 14, 2008

i have tried other rubs, but this one is the best i have used, my kids even love it. i used hickory in my smoker turned out great

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandon l. March 15, 2008

Actually very good. My 1st time cooking brisket.
I did not smoke it however. I just put in on the lowest setting on the grill, turned it once, and mopped it.
Easy and sliced it up thin for sandwiches.

Thanks for posting R&R Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewEnglandCook April 03, 2011

ooooo!!yummy!! did all the same but omitted garlic due to temporarily needing to cut it out of my diet for a couple weeks, added in 1/2 T powdered ginger to compensate. used on a pork brisket tip roast (other part of package said "pork bones"?? what the heck?) but turned out wonderful!! will use this over and over!! thanks man!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes January 18, 2011

Very impressed with this recipe. My husband and I loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krysten-marshall February 01, 2010

WOW!! That's all one needs to say when tasting this absolute delicious brisket recipe! Makes GREAT leftovers, too! Thanks, Rock & Roll BBQ Chef!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becca74 May 25, 2009

This brisket is beautiful! You are the rock and roll king!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julesstracener July 04, 2008

i have done a brisket with a simular rub and decided to try this one and it is wonderful.. we used apples chips. thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daggle July 21, 2006
Rock & Roll BBQ Brisket