Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Red Beans and Ham Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Beans and Ham

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2002

      I cooked this soup tonight and the whole family thought it was great. It couldn't have been any easier to put together and the taste was fantastic! I couldn't find any cajun tomatoes, so I used tomatoes with chilies and added some cajun seasoning. This is one that will definitely go in my favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      I made this for supper last night. It was absolutely delicious. Hearty ham and bean flavor with the zest of the cajun tomatoes and spices. I did as you suggested and served over rice and with your sour cream corn bread. My husband and I were totally thrilled with this yummy southern fare. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      We thought this was delicious and so simple to make, didn't even have to chop onions. I did add a cup of smoked sausage because I didn't have enough ham. I also like a variety of beans so I used red, black, and white beans. I didn't have cajun stewed tomatoes, so just used the original recipe and I did have to add more liquid, it all was still great. Tried it as is and also over rice, liked it both ways. This was so good on a day we were painting the house and didn't have time to cook. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      I made these for Fathers Day & we all loved them! I used light red kidney beans & didnt drain the tomatoes. I would use diced next time but other than that, the seasonings were perfect. Our store didnt have cajun style tomatoes so used 1 tsp of cajun seasoning. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      I made this using regular stewed tomatoes and I added onion. Very easy I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      This is total comfort food and I don't have to wait 4 hours for my Red Beans and Rice! I totally love this recipe but I kicked it up a bit with extra seasoning (at least another 1/4 tsp of each) and more Tabasco. I should probably mention that I added a teaspoon of red pepper flakes too. ;) Thanks for sharing, rbs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      This recipe gets high ratings for being easy and pretty tasty. It turned out a little on the soupy side for me, to thicken it I pureed 1/4 of the mixture and then returned it to the pan. I also added more cajun seasoning since we like things spicy. I believe for a deeper, richer flavor I will still go with the slow-cooked dry bean with fresh onions and garlic method......but if you are in a hurry and want something quick and tasty this is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      So quick and easy to make!! I couldn't find cajun tomatoes either, so I took Dreamgoddess' advice and used tomatoes with chilis and added 1 ts of cajun seasoning. I was also quite heavy-handed with the spices as we like it spicy! I served this with white rice and Jellyqueen's Cheese and Pepper Bread: I thought this was very nice, but my husband absolutely *raved* about this! He finished the whole pot in under 12 hours as he kept going back for the leftovers. Good and hearty meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      Easy, easy, easy, an soooo delicious. We love red beans and rice and this was a nice quick version. Great seasonings. I added hot sauce to taste. I am not sure how much I used though. I also threw in a bay leaf for the simmer stage and served the beans and ham over rice. Very delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Beans and Ham

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.5
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    66%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 14.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 526.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 10.2 g
    41%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 18.1 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes