17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Stunning! I only recently started cooking shrimp a lot, since I have found creative ways to reduce the sodium content. I used unsalted butter, low sodium Worcestershire sauce, and my homemade sodium-free creole seasoning. Other than that, I followed your recipe to a "T", except that I halved the recipe for just 2 of us. By the way, I agree that about 1/2 pound of shrimp per person is just right. And I used huge, fat, ohmygawd-size shrimp that I get from a local wholesale seafood market that I recently discovered. Excellent recipe, Ann.

48 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® March 24, 2002

This was fantastic! I don't like food too spicy and this was just right for me--just enough to let you know there was a bit of cayenne in it! I served it with rice and fresh baby spinach leaves and just spooned the sauce over all. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W March 06, 2002

Thanks Miss Annie, I've had this dish on vists to "Naw-lins" so I am thrilled to find this recipe. A suggestion for those with sensitive taste buds is to marinate the shrimp in the sauce and then grill them.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac February 24, 2002

I have eaten at Ralph and Kacoo's many times and their Barbecued Shrimp is the best around. Since I moved away from Louisiana, I have really missed this wonderful treat. I am so thrilled to have found this. We had this last weekend and it was an "exstussy" experience. The spices were perfect for out taste. Served this with green salad and lots of ice cold beer. Thanks Miss Annie. Love you for this.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' June 21, 2002

I am from New Orleans and have been looking for a really good BBQ shrimp recipe to make at home. This recipe was fantastic! I followed the sauce recipe, used it on about 4 lbs of deheaded shrimp in a large casserole type dish. Baked it uncovered in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. It was the one of, if not the, best BBQ shrimp my wife and I ever had!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickT63 September 12, 2002

Thank you Miss Annie, this deserved more than 5 stars. I had this on Christmas Eve and now wondering when the next holiday is!! We lived in Bossier City LA and went to Ralph & Kacoo's and this is right up there with their shrimp! I used "RickT63" advice and baked it in a large casserole dish. All 2.5 lbs of large Gulf Shrimp with shells on. Took about 30 min. I did alter the recipe, omitting butter (used marg.) and the cayenne pepper. Neither I can handle. This shrimp has the most incredible taste. Made alot of sauce which my husband has enjoyed using in his oyster stew one evening and his seafood pasta this evening. This is excellent cold and today I just heated the shrimp on my grill pan for a few min. Absolutley heavenly! Again, thank you for sharing this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie December 26, 2003

We had these not too long ago and they were delicious. I used jumbo shrimp and enjoyed every last one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluEyedCookette November 29, 2010

Excellent choice when you have a craving for shrimp. My DH and I enjoyed them so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyCookiesCrumble February 10, 2010

Excellent! This is the way to go when your looking or a great shrimp recipe to tantalize your taste buds. Just the right amount of spices in this one. Has you coming back for more!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiggiesStickeyRibs September 30, 2008

I also cut the recipe in half for two people. The sauce was delicious. I enjoyed the bread soaked in sauce almost as much as the shrimp!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan February 04, 2007
Ralph & Kacoo's Barbecued Shrimp