Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Ralph & Kacoo's Barbecued Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ralph & Kacoo's Barbecued Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2002

      Stunning! I only recently started cooking shrimp a lot, since I have found creative ways to reduce the sodium content. I used unsalted butter, low sodium Worcestershire sauce, and my homemade sodium-free creole seasoning. Other than that, I followed your recipe to a "T", except that I halved the recipe for just 2 of us. By the way, I agree that about 1/2 pound of shrimp per person is just right. And I used huge, fat, ohmygawd-size shrimp that I get from a local wholesale seafood market that I recently discovered. Excellent recipe, Ann.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2002

      This was fantastic! I don't like food too spicy and this was just right for me--just enough to let you know there was a bit of cayenne in it! I served it with rice and fresh baby spinach leaves and just spooned the sauce over all. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2002

      Thanks Miss Annie, I've had this dish on vists to "Naw-lins" so I am thrilled to find this recipe. A suggestion for those with sensitive taste buds is to marinate the shrimp in the sauce and then grill them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2002

      I have eaten at Ralph and Kacoo's many times and their Barbecued Shrimp is the best around. Since I moved away from Louisiana, I have really missed this wonderful treat. I am so thrilled to have found this. We had this last weekend and it was an "exstussy" experience. The spices were perfect for out taste. Served this with green salad and lots of ice cold beer. Thanks Miss Annie. Love you for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2002

      I am from New Orleans and have been looking for a really good BBQ shrimp recipe to make at home. This recipe was fantastic! I followed the sauce recipe, used it on about 4 lbs of deheaded shrimp in a large casserole type dish. Baked it uncovered in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. It was the one of, if not the, best BBQ shrimp my wife and I ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      Thank you Miss Annie, this deserved more than 5 stars. I had this on Christmas Eve and now wondering when the next holiday is!! We lived in Bossier City LA and went to Ralph & Kacoo's and this is right up there with their shrimp! I used "RickT63" advice and baked it in a large casserole dish. All 2.5 lbs of large Gulf Shrimp with shells on. Took about 30 min. I did alter the recipe, omitting butter (used marg.) and the cayenne pepper. Neither I can handle. This shrimp has the most incredible taste. Made alot of sauce which my husband has enjoyed using in his oyster stew one evening and his seafood pasta this evening. This is excellent cold and today I just heated the shrimp on my grill pan for a few min. Absolutley heavenly! Again, thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      We had these not too long ago and they were delicious. I used jumbo shrimp and enjoyed every last one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Excellent choice when you have a craving for shrimp. My DH and I enjoyed them so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Excellent! This is the way to go when your looking or a great shrimp recipe to tantalize your taste buds. Just the right amount of spices in this one. Has you coming back for more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      I also cut the recipe in half for two people. The sauce was delicious. I enjoyed the bread soaked in sauce almost as much as the shrimp!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      I used rosemary in place of thyme andI cut the oil down to 1/4 cup and the butter to 1/2 a stick but left the rest as printed. This is so good. I have had the pleasure of eating this dish at the restaurant named the same and this is better IMO. I served with broccoli. Great dish!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2005

      I made this for my birthday celebration. It has been in my cookbook for sometime and I wanted to try something special. I was not disappointed. I cut the recipe in half as it was just two of us. This recipe is truly incredible, rich and flavorful. I served with a green salad and crusty bread to soak up the sauce. A real feast! Wish I had tried this one sooner but will be making this again and again. Thank you Ann!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      The recipe looks fine however, one key difference adds a lot to the flavor. Use heads-on shrimp instead of headless. Much of the flavor from Barbecue Shrimp comes from the heads (sorry if that grosses you out but that's just how it is). <br/><br/>Personally I prefer more black pepper as well but to each his/her own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Little Greasy Tasting and not as much flavor as I had expected...sorry it was just ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      The amount of fat in this recipe was overwhelming. The flavor was good, but even though I cut the butter down to 1/4 lb, it was still way to much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      I heated all of the ingredients in my crockpot until the butter melted and then I added the shrimp and left on low for a couple of hours so that I could take a nap - turned out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      This was okay. Not what I was hoping for though. The lemon was a bit overpowering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ralph & Kacoo's Barbecued Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (502 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1169.8
     
    Calories from Fat 923
    78%
    Total Fat 102.6 g
    157%
    Saturated Fat 37.3 g
    186%
    Cholesterol 563.7 mg
    187%
    Sodium 1047.4 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 48.6 g
    97%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes