Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Pork Chops With Caramelized Onion-mushroom Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pork Chops With Caramelized Onion-mushroom Sauce

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2009

      This is THE most fabulous pork chop recipe I have ever tasted in my life. That is not an over statement! At the first taste of this very tender, moist chop, my husband declared it as the best pork he has ever tasted. Now, that comes from a man that always has to put barbecue sauce on every piece of pork he has, regardless of the way it is prepared. This time though, NO barbecue sauce was brought to the table! : ) The spice in this recipe are right on target. The pork is the most tender I have ever tasted. There is not one thing I would change about this recipe, it is perfect! I used 6 rather thick boneless pork loin chops and added a generous amount of mushrooms. For the gravy that was perfection, I did not have any cornstarch on hand, so I subbed flour (however, I know the cornstarch would have worked just as well). I will definitely make this one again and again and again. Thanks so much, Caroline Cooks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      This is one of the best crockpot recipes I have ever had! I added a clove of garlic, minced and used thick cut loin chops. The sauce thickened with half and half (I used fat-free) was very rich and creamy. I also used the bay leaf and fresh parsley. The only change I would make is maybe add another onion next time, just because we love caramelized onions. This one will be used in the RV also, where I do a lot of crockpot cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      This is a GREAT crock pot recipe because it had wonderful flavors even after cooking for so long. It's also great because it would be fantastic to serve to dinner guests. I made this recipe as posted except I used a 3# pork sirloin roast. I cut the roast into 5 thick chops and it worked out well. As with so many people's crock pots, mine runs hot so after 5 hours on low, I turned it down to warm until I was ready to make the sauce. The leftovers are in the freezer since I'm cooking for 2 now and we look forward to having it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      This is sooo good! Loved it with mashed potatoes and the sauce. Will try 2 T. cornstarch next time as we like sauces a little thicker. The meat was so tender and nice, didn't need a knife.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      Warning Label: "DO NOT LOOK WHEN HUNGRY" ...or your eyeballs will fall out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Without a doubt the best comfort pork chop dinner that our family had. 5 thumbs up!!! We will have this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Excellent recipe! I thought my kids were going to swallow their plates these were sooooooo good! This meal was literally inhaled :) We had with mashed potatoes and peas with sauteed mushrooms. My boys both asked when we were having these again, so I guess they hit the spot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      love this!!! it was so good with mash potato's

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      I really liked it other than the thyme, and I added another onion

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      This is delicous ! YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Good recipe! However, I did not have to wait 7-8 hours. It only took 4 hours on low in the crock pot. I guess it depends on on thick your pork chops are ( used 5 chops with bone in, just because I like the flavor of the bones). I did add a clove a garlic and deglazed it with red wine. Toward the end with I was adding the cornstarch mix, I had to add a little more salt (seasoning salt). Otherwise, it was really tasty:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      Firstly, LoriMama's picture of this dish is beautiful. We (DH & I) thought it was good. It wasn't outstanding. The only thing I did differently was to add garlic powder to the dish. It was a hectic day & it was nice to have a crock pot meal ready at the end of the day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Wow, this was soooo good. I skipped the step with the cream and cornstarch as I didn't want to wait for it to thicken and it was still very, very good. Chops were ultra tender and the mushrooms and onions only made it better. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Much enjoyed. I didn't however make this in a crock pot. I baked it in the oven for 30 minutes at 350. Turned out great. I knew I wasn't going to get the fall off the bone tenderness, but I liked the sauce that goes with this dish. Next time when I have all day, I'll make it in the suggested cooking vessel. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Yum! Great comfort food. I took the photo at step 11 because after smelling it all day I was in a hurry to get it to the table. I forgot to do the rest of the steps before the pic, lol. I did do the other steps, but we had already devoured it before I thought about photos again. LOL. Very nice dish and thanks Caroline Cooks for such a nice keeper. And thanks to gailanng for recommending it for Best of 2010 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This was a fabulous dish, although I did make a few changes. I didn't have pork chops, so used pork blade steaks instead & it still turned out great. I used more mushrooms, added a clove of garlic and used water instead of half and half to thicken. The prep for this dish is a little more than the average slow cooker recipe, but well worth it. I served with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans. I ended up wth lots of the gravy, so I'll use more meat next time. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      mmm Caroline the sauce on these pork chops is outstanding! DH loved them with mashed potatoes. I used olive oil instead of the butter and 2% milk for the half and half; and a crisp white wine to deglaze the pan; also used fresh parsley from the garden. Served them with baby carrots. A wonderful meal that will be repeated many times. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      We really enjoyed these pork chops for dinner last night. They came out of the crock pot very tender ~ we didn't need knives! I made as posted except that I didn't add the optional ingredients. The sauce was wonderful without them. I served with baked potatoes and asparagus. Thank you so much for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pork Chops With Caramelized Onion-mushroom Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (375 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.4
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    54%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 139.2 mg
    46%
    Sodium 496.0 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 42.3 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites