Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Pecan Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pecan Rice

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2011

      I made 1/2 of the recipe and did cut back on the amount of pecans just a bit. I used Jasmine long grain rice and this was so tasty for such few ingredients. The only change I would make next time, I would still toast the pecans, but add them to the rice once it was done in order to keep a stronger crunch. Thanks for sharing the recipe Boomie. Made in honor of your win in the "All You Can Cook Buffet" event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I've made this several times and somehow forgot to rate it. Delicious, one of my favorite long grain rice recipes! I love how much flavor there is for how few ingredients are involved. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Very good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Perfect in every respect! I made ours as posted. I served ours with Teriyaki Pork Chops and Microwave Steamer Bag Carrot Cauliflower Medley. Thanks Boomete for a winner! Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This is a great and easy variation on plain rice. I only used 1 medium onion (2 sounded like too much), and used pecan halves. Went great with your Steamed Salmon With Mushrooms and Leeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Great recipe, Boomette: very versatile. For our taste preferences, I had to add garlic. I added 4 minced cloves to the onions. I also added about a tablespoon of orange juice to help make up the 13/4 cups of stock. We love orange flavours with chicken, and I had heaps of oranges on hand. I always add some herbs, so for this dish, I added marjoram, oregano and thyme. Once the rice was ready to serve, I added warmed shredded chicken to the rice. This made a fabulously delicious meal, and one that was super easy to prepare. The pecans were great in this, adding both textural variation and flavour. Next time I make this, I'm thinking I'll try it with a can of salmon, and use dill. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe, Boomette!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      This is so unique and wonderful! I made as directed, but used 2 cups of broth. I also forgot to toast the pecans, but that was ok, it is still delicious. This is a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      After browning the onions I placed all in my rice cooker. I only used 1/2 C pecans and increased broth by 1/4 Cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      This rice is excellant Boomette. I made it exactly as written. The butter, onions and pecans creat a lovely subtley sweet flavour. What a lovely surprise....even better than I had anticipated. I enjoyed this very much and will make again and again. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      Pecan rice reminds me of New Orleans and the delicious Louisiana cuisine that I so love. I did use brown rice that was cooked in the rice cooker. While the rice cooked, the pecans were toasted in a dry skillet and the onions were browned. After the rice had cooked, everything was tossed together. This was served as suggested with fish, Salmon With Citrus-Mint Gremolata.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      I'm very impressed with this. This simple to make recipe gave a lot fore flavor than I was really expecting. I skipped the butter and just softened the onion is some water to save on fat. I also left the pecans in big chunks so that DH could pick them out. He gave the rice 4 stars and thats really good considering that he usually refuses to eat anything with nuts in it. I made 2 servings and used more stock than ask for (about 2/3-3/4 c to 1/3 c of rice) and that gave me well cooked, fluffy and separate grains. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pecan Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.8
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    54%
    Total Fat 19.9 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 17.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 153.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites