Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Old Fashioned Southern Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Southern Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2008

      Very easy to make this GREAT TASTING CORNBREAD! Had it with a chicken dinner & the leftovers went well with a turkey chowder! A great recipe to keep on hand! Many thanks for posting it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Stars Tag Game]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      Thank you for the great recipe!! turned out great i did add just a little vanilla to it. the texture was terrific. thanks again. this recipe will be used often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      This cornbread has a lovely texture: its moist and soft on the inside with a nice crust to the outside. The taste is nice, only barely sweet and perfect to accompany a chili or a hearty meal. YUM! I think I would have liked some more flavour, though. Maybe some vanilla added or if youre going into the hearty direction some garlic or chilli powder.
      All in all a very easy and quick to make recipe with good results that Ill make again slightly tweaked due to personal preference.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, appleydappley!
      Made and reviewed on recommendation of Sydney Mike June 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      This was the best cornbread I have ever eaten! Sure beats Jiffy Mix!!LOL Loved it in the iron skillet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      This was a very nice southern cornbread and I knew we would like it because it had very little sugar. However, mine never did rise and I followed the recipe to the letter. Flavor was still there though. Went well with my beef and cabbage soup. Thanks Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Great cornbread to have with chili! Not too sweet, just like we like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Nice cornbread. I made as directed but next time would need to add more sugar. I would recommend adding 1 to 2 tablespoons. Mine baked in 20 minutes exactly. Thanks AD. Made for win in The Best of 2008 Cookbook Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Pretty good, but kinda gritty. Then again, that could have been my cornmeal. I, too, think a little sweeter would have been tastier, even if it is less authentic. Only took 15 minutes in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This went great with chili last night - I love the smooth texture of this cornbread! I did add a bit more sugar (actually splenda) because we like our bread a little bit on the sweeter side. I'd make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      This is delicious! Made exactly as stated and it turned out wonderful. I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This is a really good cornbread to accompany soups or chili! It has a great texture and is not sweet, which makes it great for chili and other spicy soups. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This is very good cornbread. A perfect accompaniment for chili or soup. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This was a great bean soup cornbread -- crmbly, but not too crumbly, and great to soak up the bean soup. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Excellent cornbread. The texture was lovely, the taste devine. I used my #4 castiron skillet, as the #8 was way too big. A perfect serving for DH and I. Used my freshly ground corn meal, oh la la... Made for beverage tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Great cornbread! Used it for our Thanksgiving dressing too! Not overly sweet but just right! We love the sugar in it, which makes the dressing even a touch of sweetness which is fantastic. Thanks appley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      This is very good but if you like your cornbread sweet you really need to add extra sugar. I used 1 tbls and it still wasn't sweet enough for us. I liked the way the corn oil is cut into the dry mixture. It turns into pea size chunks. The batter is not as thick as I'm use too, but texture is great and it holds up perfectly. I cooked it in my cast iron skillet. I will be making again with even more sugar added. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      Very good Cornbread! I liked it very much and so did the Missus. I served it with Hazeleyes crockpot hamburger soup #214937 and we enjoyed it very much. I will probably add some extra sugar the next time I make it. Thanks appleydappley. GemBob

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Southern Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (63 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 119.7
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    26%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 25.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 381.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites