8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been making this dish for over 20yrs. now & it's always been a family favorite. I just made it last night for my daughter's 28th birthday dinner. I buy the frozen shrimp from Costco, it comes shelled. It doesn't make any difference. I use more garlic than the recipe calls for, I've also done it without bacon during Lent. You can't taste the difference. I serve it over red beans & rice with good sourdough bread for dipping. It's always a hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Capoman August 13, 2012

I've made this recipe off and on for over 20yrs. I finally lost it and oh, how upset I was since my nephew is coming to visit and this is the best any of us has ever tasted! I took a chance and checked for it on line and low and behold it was the first recipe to pop up. Thank you, thank you. You have noooo idea how great this recipe is! Anymore than 5 stars?????

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancyhajt January 29, 2010

this is the best ever, i have served this many times and people go nuts, i also use whatever hot sauce i have on hand. the japonese hot sauce works great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersine.alabran1 March 23, 2009

This is wonderful! However, I didnt like dealing with the mess, so decided to try something a little different. I peeled the raw shrimp and patted dry the shrimp and shells. Then put shells in bottom of pan, added cleaned shrimp and sauce from original recipe. Baked as directed and then used tongs to pick out the shrimp. Still wonderful and delicious and no hot greasy mess!! My husband and I both think they are still yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lakepods April 13, 2008

Scrumptous!!Girls nite at my house last night. We had this shrimp with only 2 minor changes;I used 'Franks' hot sauce and a little smoked paprika. Sided it with crusty french bread, a green salad, white rice, wine, and lots of laughter and music. Everyone LOVED the shrimp and all left with your recipe in hand. Thank you, thank you, thank you. April, Manhattan, Ks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hartmygirls February 17, 2008

I made this last night to go along with our anniversary dinner and it was so good! I didn't change anything except I used "Frank's" instead of Tabasco sauce because that's all I had. In the future I will continue to make this with no changes. Thank you papergoddess for posting this winning recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplemom November 13, 2007

Out of this world good! Regards, DEEP

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP March 06, 2006

My favorite way to have shrimp. I served with toasted french bread to soak up the juice. I used half olive oil and half butter. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff September 30, 2002
New Orleans Barbecued Shrimp