Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / My Secret Ingredient Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Secret Ingredient Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2008

      Hey Chef #219653 Just because your Mother did it...doesn't mean everyone else in the world thought of it too!!!! I hadn't! and found this slaw to be GREAT! everyone said the apple made the slaw. Thanks again for what to me was a secret ingredient!!! Tapout

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      I did half the recipe. I put 1 carrot, 1 golden delicious apple, no celery seeds, no onion. Maybe next time I'll double the sauce. It's delicious :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      This is now our favourite coleslaw recipe, even the kids like it! I left out the onions and used the dressing ingredients as specified with 1/8 tsp. salt and pepper, but with 1/2 head of cabbage. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      Sometimes my husband is not too thrilled with coleslaw, but he and I both loved this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      This recipe is now a family favorite - all other coleslaw recipes have been discarded! I omitted the celery seed, doubled the dressing and used low-fat mayonnaise and the taste is FABULOUS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      This was a great cole slaw. I used a bag of ready made cole slaw and I used a sugar substitute and fat free mayonnaise in the dressing as I am diabetic. We have a salad with every meal and hubby usually takes just a bit but tonight he had seconds and then thirds of this delicious cole slaw. Thanks for a great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2005

      This was a wonderful coleslaw and a change from my own recipe. I really enjoyed the dressing, it had just the perfect balance of sweetness, and the apples really brought out a nice flavor. Great recipe, I really enjoyed this!....Kittencal:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2005

      This was great, islandgirl. Only change I made was to add my secret ingredient, a few dried cranberries and lemon juice rather than vinegar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      I have always added diced apple to my coleslaw so I don't know how secret it is. I prefer a Macintosh or other red skinned apple for the added color. I sometimes also add canned well drained mandarin oranges too. I would leave out the onion, or maybe just add a little green onion and skip the vinegar and celery seed. For company I serve it with toasted flaked almonds on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      Love it. Only instead of vinegar and sugar, I use orange juice. I am trying to eat healthier these days, and find that OJ works quite well where sugar and vinegar are used in these type of recipes. It has the acidity and sweetness of both, and is healthier for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      I made my Cole Slaw like this before and loved it. Another way I make it and have never seen any like it posted on a recipe web site is instead of apples add one can of Leisure Sweet Baby Peas that are drained and use red onion, cabbage and carrots with the sweet dressing. It is like a crunchy Pea Salad it is good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      Thanks for sharing the secret! We love our slaw around here...and now, a new favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

    • on June 15, 2005

      Very Good, I liked the idea of the apples in the slaw. The onion was a bit overpowering to the apples though. I think next time I'll leave the onion out. Note ~ I used 1/2 of a large head of cabbage and needed to double the dressing to get it to the right quantity for the amount of slaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Secret Ingredient Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90.6
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    40%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 105.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites