13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! I hardly ever have mashed potatoes in my house, but we had some leftovers today so I decided to make this recipe. Let's just say I am stuffed.... I enjoyed these a little too much, lol. :) I cut the recipe in half and it worked well, was hard to flip for me too like another reviewer said, and got a little messy, but it tasted so good I didn't care. Thanks so much for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ April 03, 2010

Easy to make for a quick meal. I thought they could use more seasonings, but they did turn a great golden color and tasted very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel March 15, 2013

I gave this a try and loved it. Growing up in the south, this was a common breakfast dish of my moms. The only think I changed ...I adding chopped up crispy bacon in the mix. 3 of these pancakes and some scrambled eggs and you are set for the day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
connie.hood March 29, 2015

YUMMY! Made this with leftover scalloped potatoes and ham -- used mixer to "mash" the potatoes. They already had onion but added garlic, eggs sour cream and Tabasco sauce as directed. Added the last bit of a box of Pancake mix instead of flour and needed to add some milk to get the right consistency to the batter. Turned out Great!! My daughter said it smelled like French fries! She and I ate it with additional sour cream but my husband put pancake syrup on his and enjoyed it. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jobmom March 09, 2014

Had some left over mashed potatoes and this was a quick fix. A little bland for me, but the process worked well. Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinker :0) May 29, 2012

Delish! I halved the recipe and added green onion instead of white and Franks Hot Sauce. Followed the rest of the recipe. I used a non-stick frying pan and they turned a pretty brown and are so tasty. Nice change, will serve for breakfast with eggs tomorrow to use up the mixture. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young February 25, 2010

These were great even though I kind of messed them up. Had leftover mashed potatoes and it was about 2 cups but they were very creamy - I should have only added 1 egg - with 2 they were just a bit thin and extremely hard to flip. I made a complete mess of them BUT the flavor was just yummy and the family gobbled them up with no complaints. I will be making them again - love the the dashes of hot sauce (I used Franks). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW November 19, 2009

Found these to be tasty, but not worth the effort. Family thought they were alright. They were a nice change from mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickyEaters July 31, 2009

I love mashed potato pancakes! I always make extra mashed potatoes so that I can make these the next day. This is very similar to the recipe that my grandma uses except she doesn't add tabasco sauce and she uses milk instead of sour cream. I must confess that I like mine with salted ketchup like fries or tater tots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsLizze May 13, 2009
Mashed Potato Pancakes Southern Style