9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great tasting crab cakes. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 06, 2014

This was my first attempt at crab cakes. We caught several blue crabs down here in the Florida bay, then boiled them and pick them. I used the meat to make these cakes and they were absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe, except that I doubled it and used extra light olive oil to fry them in. I served them with the Cajun Remoulade sauce, #322382, as suggested by another viewer. Thanks so much. These will definitely be a new family favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefbeebo August 23, 2011

My first time making crab cakes and it was a success! BF and friends loved it! As other reviewers suggested, I added 1 tsp of Old Bay seasoning and used Panko flakes for the outside, while using water crackers in place of saltines. I added 1/4 tsp of salt to make up for the water crackers (thats all I had). We ate the crab cakes with the Cajun Remoulade sauce, #322382 recipe as another reviewer suggested. Great combo. Will definitely make again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Chen November 08, 2009

I'm from the Mississippi Gulf Coast. Grew up eating cajun food. I doubled this recipe which yielded quite a few cakes. I thought the cakes were alittle bland but then my expectations may have been a little too high. I'll definately try this recipe again in the future along with lot more seasonings & spice. Thanks for sharing a great recipe with all on Recipezaar. Smiles!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Charlie Brown September 16, 2009

WOW! DH said these were as good as our favorite restaurants crab cakes! I prepared the recipe as stated with the exception of no bell pepper (I didn't have any), I used real mayo instead (no sour cream in the house) and panko bread crumbs inside and to coat the cakes. I just had to add 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay. Cuz I love it! This is my only crabcake recipe from now on! I forgot to take a picture but will do that next time! I may try some chipotle tabasco in the recipe too. Thank you Oolala! YUMMY! YaYa OK, it is now May 26, 2009 and I cooked these wonderful crabcakes for dinner last night. We still love them and will stick with this recipe. I remembered to snap a picture. They really taste better than my photograph. : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yaya78006 May 26, 2009

These are delicious. I made them as directed and I didn't have any problems. I served them with Cajun Remoulade sauce, #322382 and it was a delicious meal. Also served it with Asian coleslaw for a light meal. Used King Crab as thats what I had left over from previous meal. Delicious crab cakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover March 12, 2009

Hands down the best crab cakes I have tasted or made. Plenty of crab flavor. My cakes started out to moist and could not form into cakes without additional crackers. I used canned crab meat which I had drained. That is probably why I had to much moisture. Next time I will drain and set the crab meat in a sieve to let it further dry out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH December 11, 2008

This is almost EXACTLY how I've been making crab cakes for the past several years. The only difference is I used Panko bread crumbs. I tried it this last time with the crackers, and I think I prefer the crackers! I used these as a base for my crab cake eggs benedict; which consists of a crab cake topped with a poached egg and a couple tablespoons of Cheron Sauce ! It was to DIE for! Thanks for posting the recipe so I didn't have to!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Dawn August 16, 2007

This recipe turned out so great that our whole Supper Club wanted it! I pulled appetizer for the evening, made four times the quantity and they left the plate like wild fire! Expectional taste and simple to make! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Waters March 19, 2006
Louisiana Deviled Crab Cakes