Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Louisiana Crawfish Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Louisiana Crawfish Casserole

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2012

      This casserole was so easy and delicous! I lived in Louisiana for 13 yrs and know my cajun food. If you follow the recipe exactly, the casserole is kind of dry like a jambalaya is. I wanted it more moist and creamier, so I added an extra can of soup, I chose cream of celery, some chicken broth and kicked up the seasoning a bit because it needed it in my opinion, with some Tony Chachere's seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      i have lived in the heart of 'Cajun Country' all my life and i cannot believe that this is the first time that i've cone across a recipe like this! this was absolutely delicious and super easy! I did make the following changes:

      I used chicken instead of crawfish because crawfish isn't in season right now and the only frozen crawfish available at my local store was Chinese crawfish (which we do NOT use!)

      I seasoned & saut?ed my chicken tenderloins with salt, pepper, garlic powder, & paprika, cooked them and then put them aside while I cooked down the veggies in the same pan with a touch of water to help it along. don't forget to season your veggies as they cook as well. I used roughly 3/4c chopped onion, 1/2 of a chopped green bell pepper, 1 rib of chopped celery, and 1 chopped garlic clove.

      I then melted the butter in the skillet with the veggies, added the chicken (diced) back in, added the three cans of soups and the uncooked rice and mixed it and then dumped it all into the casserole pan.

      when it came time to add the cheese, I used pepper jack instead of plain Monterey jack (because Cajuns like spice). I also used roughly 3/4c pepper jack and roughly 1&1/4c cheddar. I am a big time "cheese head", so i never think that ANY recipe has enough cheese....

      anyway, this recipe was truly amazing! my husband, who HATES casseroles went back for seconds and even said that the seconds were even better than the first serving. he told me several times that he liked this casserole.

      ....I can't wait to make it again during crawfish season and REALLY blow his mind!

      :)

      thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      This recipe was recommended to me by my daughter, Venessa. She substituted shrimp for the crawfish, so I made it her way and we loved it. I have since made it with frozen crawfish and the flavor profile is completely different. ( Fresh crawfish in the NW is expensive) I prefer the flavor and softer texture of the shrimp meat in this casserole. I can't believe how simple it was to make and leftovers was better than the day I made it.

      My plans are to make this dish for a potluck and substitute leftover turkey from Thanksgiving dinner. It will be interesting to see what folks think.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      My husband loved the flavor of this, BUT note.......Do not use brown rice as it takes much longer than the 1 hour to cook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      This was absolutely Delicious!!! I too being from Louisiana thought I've eaten crawfish in every way. Served 16-18 - Large buffet serving pan used. I doubled the recipe and used Tony Cachere for seasoning along with the Garlic and Onion Powder. I used Original Rotel but only 1 can on the double - The rice was a little crisp so maybe next time I will use 2 cans. Also the only cheese I used was Kraft Mexican Shredded Cheese (pepper jack and cheddar) Along side this dish I made Oven Fried Chicken Breast using Panko bread crumbs, Egg yolk, flour, Olive Oil Spray, paprika, etc. This too was WONDERFULL! Would have shared picture but dish was DESTROYED by hungry people. I am sure to make this again and I have already shared the recipe with 3 other people already...Yum Yum

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      This meal was delicious! Being from Louisiana, I've eaten crawfish in just about every way imaginable, but I've never had it as a casserole. I recently acquired some peeled crawfish and was looking for something fairly easy to make with it. Etouffee would be most people's first choice but it was a little too labor intensive for me. I thought this tasted very similar to etouffee (but maybe better because it's covered in cheese?) and it makes a ton! I will be making it again. I don't think I changed the recipe much at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Wonderful! I put 12 oz. crawfish and 1/2 lb. shrimp. Used tomatoes with chipotles instead of Rotel, and used Tony's instead of salt. Had to stir it at 45 minutes, cover and cook another 15 before adding cheese as it just wasn't getting hot in the middle (this makes a lot!). I think that added time helped the rice cook thoroughly. We will be enjoying this often and sharing it with friends. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      This smelled heavenly while cooking!!! The only change I made was to substitute red onion for the green onion. When I was ready to put this together, realized my green onions were gone. (My Mom loves them). We really enjoyed. It was just spicy enough without being overpowering for those that don't like the heat. I added a few drops of Tabasco to mine. : ). Made for Rajun Cajun photo event 2009. Thanks Mailbelle for posting, will be making this next spring when fresh crawfish are plentiful & cheap!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2014

      I am a Long Island girl, so this was my first attempt cooking crawfish in anything. Looked at all the recipes on this site and this caught my eye. Thanks to all the past reviews that were posted for this recipe I think I have found the right combo so that your rice is done and it will come out perfect! First of all being a newbie to crawfish, I did not know how little meat you get out of a pound of crawfish, so I added some diced chicken also. Since I was cooking for two I cut a lot of the ingredients in half. The only ingredients I did not were the liquid ones, the Rotel,onion soup and the cream of mushroom soup. I used the advice of others and cooked my veggies in the butter before adding. Did not use the salt and pepper and used a teaspoon of Tony Chachere's seasoning. Baked as directed for 45 minuets then added the cheese and cooked for 15 minutes more. PERFECT! So many great flavors in this recipe. The rice was cooked perfectly, was almost like a risotto. Husband went back for seconds and took the rest for lunch today. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2014

      I have made this many times since I found the recipe. I kick it up with a couple of drops of Zatarains liquid crab boil. Perfection , I have also tried it with chunks of chicken and Jimmy Deans bulk pork sausage. With the sausage I sauté it until it's no longer pink. Great any way you fix it. Thanks for a really good quick dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      Like a lot more moisture in my creole dishes than this provides. Think I will stick to Etouffee in a lobster broth just to be safe. We love our 'mudbugs'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      Cooking this right now and checked it after 45 minutes. Rice is still hard so I turned up the heat and cooking it longer. Hopefully this will help! It smells great though!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      This is delicious -- BUT follow others advice and saute' your veggies in the butter for sure. Add the tony chacheres seasoning. I sprinkled it over my veggies and then when I added shrimp (I substituted shrimp for crawfish). Add as little or as much depending on what kind of kick you like. I also added a clove of minced garlic and a wee bit of garlic powder. I put things in casserole dish as the reviewer merlotrouge did (about the third review down). Came out wonderfully!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      Loved this recipe. Had a great flavor throughout and a decent amount of kick. Had to cook an extra 15 minutes and that took care of the hard rice problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      Made this awhile ago and forgot to review it. Made it more recently for a work Cajun-themed potluck. Everyone enjoyed it. Made no changes and thought the flavors mingled well together. Just spicy enough without being too hot. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      The flavor was very delicious but the rice came out way too hard. I ended up putting the whole thing in a big pot, filled the empty can of French onion soup 2 times and let simmer about 20 mins. I returned it to casserole dish added a layer of cheese and baked for 20 mins. Was awesome after that!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      This casserole is delicious. I follow the recipe except I sometimes omit celery, because my son doesn't like it. I have made it several times using different types of rice and I have found that small and medium grain rice turns out too mushy and the extra long grain rice too crunchy. From now on I will only use long grain rice. I made it once using 12 oz frozen crawfish along with a package of 12 oz frozen pre-cooked shrimp (both thawed using the quick method instructions on the pkg) and original Rotel. It was a little spicy and SO good. My whole family loved it. Make sure you cover the glass casserole dish tightly with heavy foil. I have to bake covered for almost an hour and then mix the cheese into it and bake for another 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      OMG I made this yesterday and already have to make another one today. It was not dry at all. I'm sure I added at least a pound and a half of crawfish. For the non-Louisiana residents, be sure to saute the bell pepper, green onions, parsley and celery in the butter until tender before adding to your casserole. I'm telling you this is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      I'm really confused. The flavor of this was wonderful, but my rice was still extremely hard, even after cooking as directed! I used regular white long grain rice. Totally ruined!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      This is SO good! Kind of like a crawfish jamabalaya.... easy to make, very tasty! Would be a great stuffing for bell peppers. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Louisiana Crawfish Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 385.9
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    42%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 102.0 mg
    34%
    Sodium 953.1 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 18.6 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites