Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Julie's Alabama White Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Julie's Alabama White Sauce

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2013

      Loved it! I'm from NC and had never heard of white sauce, but my son and I are studying Alabama, and I stumbled upon this, so we thought we'd give it a whirl. It will now be on my family's regular meal rotation. I marinated the chicken for 24 hours with a standard marinade, then grilled the chicken while basting on 3/4 the sauce. Served the remainder of the white sauce on the table. Deeeeeelicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      Whipped this up today for use with either some fried chicken or a rotisserie chicken. It is really delicious and I plan to have it for lunch tomorrow; however, it didn't stop me from sampling it a few times before I placed it in the refrigerator. Love the horseradish along with the vinegar and black pepper. Can't wait to try it on my family. Made for the Best of 2011 Cookbook tag, February, 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      been looking for this recipe! thank you! it is fantastic :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      So, so excellent! I have my own version of this "Alabama" white sauce....I am originally from Alabama! Mine is thinner and has more vinegar and black pepper. But I loved the thickness of this with the horseradish bite. I made it to serve the way I usually grill chicken quarters or halves. I was delighted to find this recipe here. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I made this sauce, and put it in the oven over boneless chicken thighs and baked till done. The sauce baked into the chicken and made it brown nicely on top. Because I used oven I had to keep pouring the grease off as it was baking, but everyone LOVED the flavor of the chicken cooked like this. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      I marinated my chicken in this, then also basted the chicken while grilling. I saved some to pass with the chicken at the table, but we really didn't need it because the chicken was already so well flavored and tender. I used bone-in thighs and breasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Super good. We used this as a marinade for chicken and shrimp kabobs and they were both wonderful. They were left to marinade for about 30 hours. We also saved some to have on the side after they were made. Everyone at the dinner table loved these and finished all of them, Even though we thought we had made way too many.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      This is my new favorite condiment! I mixed some up to have with Tyson Southern Style Chicken Nuggets and loved it. It was also pretty good to dip french fries in. I've also had it with rotisserie turkey breast from the store, and I imagine it would be great with pork roast. I also think it might make a great sauce for Vitello Tonato (poached cold veal breast with tuna sauce), based on recipes I've read for that particular dish. I might even brush it on some cod fillets before baking them. I didn't follow the proportions of ingredients really; I just started mixing them together until I got the taste and consistency I liked. I added a little lemon juice, too, as several recipes for the sauce called for it. I do think it's really quite optional, though. Thank you for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      I've wanted to make this recipe for a while. Made it for my family and they went NUTS over it - General consensus -- "IT'S A KEEPER" . I didn't change a thing! I think I would like to marinate chicken in this BEFORE I grill it. I'd like to see the end result. Thank you Oolala for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      Made this tonight, and ventured out! I poured it over lightly sauteed fresh asparagus, and topped with crisp, smoked bacon chunks spread over. This is sublime! I can see a lot of varied uses. The recipe is simple, directions perfect, and the outcome unbeatable! Thanks, Oolala! I'll be trying this on a lot of things other than "BBQ".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      We really loved this Sauce. I was unsure what to expect and was surprised at the wonderfully vinegary taste .... We love horseradish and were a little disappointed that it took the back burner. Our guest loved it and so did we. I would make this again, but would use fresh horseradish to bring it over the top. Great entry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Julie's Alabama White Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (55 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.9
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    72%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 11.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 606.4 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites