Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Homemade Blackberry Jam Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Blackberry Jam

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2011

      I have 6 blackberry bushes in my yard.
      Great recipe, but my family likes seedless jam.
      I do one extra step, I strain the cooked down berries through a wire strainer and to get all the goodness out I push them through with a gravy ladle. Super simple and seedless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2002

      My son LOVES blackberry jam, so I tried this out. It's GREAT! I did cheat and use frozen blackberries, but it was still wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2011

      If I had to write this review in a few words - it would be WOW! and Delicious! Oh and very easy to do. We are a bit new at canning and this recipe was easy to do. I love the fact that I don't have to buy manufactured jams anymore! Thanks for a keeper :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      DH loves this jam it it's very easy to make. I've canned it twice already; the first time as instructed and the second time without seeds, he loves both but now the seeds don't get caught in his teeth. wish I could find a sugar free jam that tastes almost as good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      This is definitely a great recipe for jam. This was my first time canning and the instructions were very easy to follow. I did end up with quite a few berry chunks which my family doesn't really like so next time I will mash the berries in layers instead of trying to mash them all at once. Thanks for posting this recipe as I will be making it for years to come.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      After picking wild blackberries had to do something with them so found this recipe and so glad I did - for a beginner at canning this was a recipe that made me look like a pro and the taste is to die for, couldn't have asked for anything better. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      This was the very first time I have ever "canned" anything in my entire 53 years and, oh boy, did I pick a winner. DH & I got up at 4:30 in the morning to be at the farmer's market for 5:30 when they opened in the hopes they would have fresh-picked blackberries. One man had some and I bought everything he had. I had enough berries to make two batches and I came out with 7-8 Ounce jars from each batch and about 2 cups left over that I just put in the refrigerator because I knew we would eat it right away so there was no need to process it in jars in the water bath. I cooked biscuits this morning, slathered them with the jam and all you could hear from me and DH were moans of ecstasy with each bite of biscuit - the flavor was truly heavenly and a wonderful taste that I remember from childhood. The only thing I did different is after I finished cooking the berries I removed it from the stove and skimmed off the foam that had accumulated on the top and let it sit for a total of 5 minutes before adding to the sterilized jars (I read this in a "canning" book). Also, since this recipe does not give any instructions on how to prepare the jars and lids if you are novice or "first time canner" like me be sure to read the guidelines on how to properly prepare the jars and lids. After removing all the jars from the water bath hearing the "pinging" was truly music to my ears. This recipe was so easy and right on target - thanks Mizz Nezz!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Delish! The only thing I changed was I used 4 1/2 cups of sugar. It turned out perfect! Thank you for sharing. I will definately make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Love is in the air! Blackberry jam here we come! Great, great, great! Just finished picking 7 quarts of these babies~and since we have a drought right now, the production of berries in particular is very high here on Longmeadow Farm. Besides cobblers, blackberry jam is such a delicious treat, just dip a knife into the jar and pull out some of this delicious jam. Two things I changed, (since these were really ripe, the pectin was a bit low) so I added 2 packages in total of fruit pectin. I also strained some of the berry bits out, but what I got was a high end production of this delicious treat. For me it did make the 7 jars, and had some extra on the frozen plate (to see set point) and I ate that with my finger. Yummy! Wish more people would try this underestimated fruit. Thanks so much, MizzNezz!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2005

      Good basic recipe but I didn't get the yield of 7 jars. Actually mine came up to about 5 8oz jars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      Loved the recipe but extremely sweet. Going out to pick more blackberries today and try again with half the sugar.<br/>Second batch cut the sugar by 1/3. So much better. My man loves it and that is what matters to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      perfectly wonderful recipe! I had 6 gallons of frozen fruit left over from last year's harvest which I used to make this jam. talk about lovely results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      This was my second time using this recipe. It's very simple to follow and makes some fantastic jam. Blackberries grow wild around my home and I've been looking for a good way to keep the berries indefinately other than freezing them. This works great for long term storage. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      Great solid jam recipe! So simple to follow and easy to fix, my husband even tried his hand at it! We played around with different batches with reduced amounts of sugar (as my husband doesn't like really sweet jams) and found that 3-4 cups works well for his pallet, but seems everyone liked it with the 1:1 ratio of sugar to cups of berries. Wonderful flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      when i tried this recipe, it was my first time doing anything with canning, but i knew that as long as you follow the recipe, not much could go wrong. the problem when i tried this recipe was that i didnt actually follow the instructions. i ended up mixing up the sugar and pectin and overboiling the pot of berries and turning my stove pink!!!!!!!!! i just hope it still turns out ok!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      This was my first time to make black berry Jam and it turned out just perfect and so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Far too much sugar for my liking and Blackberries really have enough pectin of their own. Usually 6 min of cooking and it done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      Made this for my hubby who's crazy about the stuff. I used wild Maine blackberries and was a bit short of the 5 cups needed so I compensated with a bit of blueberries. It didn't affect the taste or the outcome. Made seven pints just as you said it would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      This is a great recipe. This was my first time making jam, and it was really easy. I have always been a little leary of canning (scared it was too hard, time consuming, etc.) and this was a great way to learn how. This recipe was easy to follow and tasted like heaven! Thanks sooo much for this recipe, I plan to use it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      This was the second jam I ever made - it was very easy to make and my husband says it's the best jam he's ever tasted! The only hiccup (not related to the recipe though) was that we discovered to our horror that there were little larvae in the blackberries we picked from a pick your own farm. We fished out as many as we could, jokingly refer to the finished product as "high protein jam".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Blackberry Jam

    Serving Size: 1 (2170 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 841.4
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    66%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 17.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 216.3 g
    72%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 204.6 g
    818%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites