53 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have 6 blackberry bushes in my yard.
Great recipe, but my family likes seedless jam.
I do one extra step, I strain the cooked down berries through a wire strainer and to get all the goodness out I push them through with a gravy ladle. Super simple and seedless.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
676505 August 23, 2011

My son LOVES blackberry jam, so I tried this out. It's GREAT! I did cheat and use frozen blackberries, but it was still wonderful.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melslack December 13, 2002

If I had to write this review in a few words - it would be WOW! and Delicious! Oh and very easy to do. We are a bit new at canning and this recipe was easy to do. I love the fact that I don't have to buy manufactured jams anymore! Thanks for a keeper :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilyn August 21, 2011

DH loves this jam it it's very easy to make. I've canned it twice already; the first time as instructed and the second time without seeds, he loves both but now the seeds don't get caught in his teeth. wish I could find a sugar free jam that tastes almost as good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Almosta Chef August 08, 2011

This is definitely a great recipe for jam. This was my first time canning and the instructions were very easy to follow. I did end up with quite a few berry chunks which my family doesn't really like so next time I will mash the berries in layers instead of trying to mash them all at once. Thanks for posting this recipe as I will be making it for years to come.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hungrymama July 27, 2010

After picking wild blackberries had to do something with them so found this recipe and so glad I did - for a beginner at canning this was a recipe that made me look like a pro and the taste is to die for, couldn't have asked for anything better. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 October 09, 2009

This was the very first time I have ever "canned" anything in my entire 53 years and, oh boy, did I pick a winner. DH & I got up at 4:30 in the morning to be at the farmer's market for 5:30 when they opened in the hopes they would have fresh-picked blackberries. One man had some and I bought everything he had. I had enough berries to make two batches and I came out with 7-8 Ounce jars from each batch and about 2 cups left over that I just put in the refrigerator because I knew we would eat it right away so there was no need to process it in jars in the water bath. I cooked biscuits this morning, slathered them with the jam and all you could hear from me and DH were moans of ecstasy with each bite of biscuit - the flavor was truly heavenly and a wonderful taste that I remember from childhood. The only thing I did different is after I finished cooking the berries I removed it from the stove and skimmed off the foam that had accumulated on the top and let it sit for a total of 5 minutes before adding to the sterilized jars (I read this in a "canning" book). Also, since this recipe does not give any instructions on how to prepare the jars and lids if you are novice or "first time canner" like me be sure to read the guidelines on how to properly prepare the jars and lids. After removing all the jars from the water bath hearing the "pinging" was truly music to my ears. This recipe was so easy and right on target - thanks Mizz Nezz!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby July 12, 2009

Delish! The only thing I changed was I used 4 1/2 cups of sugar. It turned out perfect! Thank you for sharing. I will definately make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahMarie July 06, 2009

Love is in the air! Blackberry jam here we come! Great, great, great! Just finished picking 7 quarts of these babies~and since we have a drought right now, the production of berries in particular is very high here on Longmeadow Farm. Besides cobblers, blackberry jam is such a delicious treat, just dip a knife into the jar and pull out some of this delicious jam. Two things I changed, (since these were really ripe, the pectin was a bit low) so I added 2 packages in total of fruit pectin. I also strained some of the berry bits out, but what I got was a high end production of this delicious treat. For me it did make the 7 jars, and had some extra on the frozen plate (to see set point) and I ate that with my finger. Yummy! Wish more people would try this underestimated fruit. Thanks so much, MizzNezz!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 18, 2007

Good basic recipe but I didn't get the yield of 7 jars. Actually mine came up to about 5 8oz jars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ishtar September 02, 2005
Homemade Blackberry Jam