7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I beg to differ with simplegirl,I was born and raised in Louisiana and have made gumbo many,many times.My grandmother was the best cajun cook ever.When okra was ready in the garden I cut it for her gumbo and other dishes.Yes,she did add it in.She stewed it in bacon and onions and added it to the pot.It was used as a thickener and for the fresh flavor that it added to the dish.We only used gumbo file' in our own bowl of gumbo at serving.It was optional as was Louisiana hot sauce.She always said okra was a personal choice.We ate gumbo at other homes and restaurants and often it contained okra.I think the whole point of this recipe is that it is lower calorie and fat.The roux, no matter how prepaired should be a dark caramel and shiny color. We do it dark to be sure the flour is totally cooked,if not it will have a raw taste that will ruin your gumbo.I found this while searching for a shrimp recipe that I can eat on my diet.I am glad to find it so that I can still have a good gumbo while dieting and this one fits the bill for me.Tho not totally authentic I love it.Thanks for posting it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nesbitt929 January 23, 2012

I'm an absolute novice when it comes to making either creole OR cajun foods, but I do know what I like! I recently attended a cooking class at a local "club" restaurant & the native Louisiana chef showed us how to make both gumbo & jambalaya ~ Well, let me tell you, this recipe of yours is every bit as wonderful as what he made for us! I took a few tips from Andi's review, but pretty much followed your recipe right on down! We thoroughly enjoyed this great taste treat ~ Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 02, 2010

We liked this recipe for healthier gumbo. It was a little plain for our tastes, but we used lots of hot sauce, which helped a lot. I used No Chicken Broth (vegetarian) for the broth and gluten free flour, otherwise followed the recipe as posted. Thanks! Made for ZWT9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny July 27, 2013

*Wow wow wow wow* this is beyond delicious! I did some research on this recipe, as Annacia's recipes have always surpassed the exceptional point. What I found is this recipe is so close to a shrimp gumbo I am not sure you could get any closer. First off, let's start with the roux. Cajun gumbo historically has a darker roux, which this has. A beautiful rich roux, that encases all the tastes and slickness of the mighty base of this dish. Secondly, it includes the "Holy Trinity" ~ peppers, onions, and celery. A must, and a absolute must. Okra thickens the roux even further, or the use of "file-powder" can be used instead, but not with the recipe. I made one small change, when cooking the shrimp, I kept their shells on, removing when finished, and making a shrimp broth (from the water from the shrimp and adding the shells which made a rich broth of delicious-ness). Instead of the beef broth I did use the shrimp broth. Other then that, followed this exactly and what a grand taste this is. I used the optional *Hot Sauce* as I love all things hot, but this is such a brightly tasting gumbo, you really truly don't need it. Oh, I wish we had more. . Thanks Annacia for a really, really delicious addition to our day with the aromatics rafting through this ol' farm house! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* March 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm March 18, 2009

This doesn't even look like gumbo. We don't use beef broth or okra, so this isn't cajun. Whether this tastes decent or not- it is not cajun gumbo. It looks more like an etouffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asimplegirl October 28, 2008

I really enjoyed this. I had never had gumbo before, but this definitely won't be the last time. Thanks for introducing me to a southern classic. I left out the okra just for personal preference, and used a red pepper instead of green pepper. Thanks for posting Annacia! made for photo tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo August 19, 2008

Thank you for this recipe. It was excellent. Even the kids asked for seconds. Who would know it was so healthy?! Will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ghostwriter December 11, 2007
Heart Healthy Shrimp Gumbo With Cajun Spice Mix