Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Deep-Fried Chicken (But Low Fat!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Deep-Fried Chicken (But Low Fat!)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2006

      I can vouch! This is precisely how one of grandmother's fried chicken. I prefer using buttermilk but otherwise keep to the spirit of this recipe. I follow up with Tony Chachere's sprinkle. Shortening will give you considerably more crunch than vegetable oil. Always recycle shortening until truly done with or after frying fish. We like frying french fries after the chicken. Helps neutralize odors in your shortening and they taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      this is a really good basic recipe, I tried this and a couple other recipes to find a good one for the 4th. I perfer a little more seasonings though, thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      i suggest instead of just salt use a brine instead pat dry after having it in for an hour then do the rest i think it works better and makes it more juicy great recipe though

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Made this the other night and it was great. I didn't make it in the deep fryer instead I cooked the chicken in the frying pan with only a little shortening. There was only my son and I so I only cooked 2 breasts, I figured waiting for the deep fryer to heat was to long for what I was cooking. I will be making this again. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      5-Stars isn't enough. I used the brown it in the fat, finish in the oven technique since I had a lot of chicken and a small fryer and it came out superbly. I added a little thyme and black pepper to the flour since we like those seasonings on chicken (needed garlic powder but was out). I can't believe how light and non-greasy this is yet perfectly crisped.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      WOW - I saw that you were the featured chef and read your profile. As soon as I noticed you had a deep-fried chicken recipe, I knew I had to try it. It IS the BEST I have ever tried in my life. So simple, yet different from any other recipe I have found. Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I salted it and then directly floured it. I did add Cayenne, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Oregano and Pepper to the flour mix though. My parents and sister said, "wow, finally we have fried chicken with flavor!" I do think that the salt was the trick though! Thanks for posting, Ciao, Bella

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      This is soooo good,the salting is the trick,(i was always told not to salt meat first,but I have learned,it tenderizes and brings out the flavor,i used the same trick this year on my turkey,some of the guest thought it was chickemn,believe it or not.This recipe is great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Deep-Fried Chicken (But Low Fat!)

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.7
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    51%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 60.3 mg
    20%
    Sodium 839.0 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites