Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Cracker Barrel's Hashbrowns Casserole - Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cracker Barrel's Hashbrowns Casserole - Copycat

    Average Rating:

    387 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 387

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2002

      I used the cream of mushroom soup also, and made two batches, one with and one without butter. The one without actually tasted better... creamier and didn''t have the fat on top after baking. Great recipe, but I would eliminate the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2002

      This is as close as it gets and I've been trying to duplicate for a long time. Thaw the shredded hash browns first otherwise casserole is really watery. A little more cheese and stirring about half way through really helped to crisp up the casserole. This one is a keeper. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2002

      Excellent!! Delicious!! I substituted Cheddar Cheese soup in lieu of Cream Of Chicken. I also sprinkled a little extra cheddar cheese on top about ten minutes before it was done. My family loved them! Will use this recipe for upcoming barbecues this summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      Made it this morning for breakfast and my husband just loved it! Added a pound of browned bulk sausage and used Fat-free Sour Cream. Only problem was there was no setting for the oven temeperature listed but, I baked it at 375 and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2002

      This does taste very similar to the original, impressive. I shreaded fresh potato in lieu of the frozen. Outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      Have made it 4 times so far. I don't use the butter. I have used Cream of Mushroom as well as the original soup. Both are good! I thaw the hash browns first. Have even added diced ham. MMMMMMM! The last batch I used my wifes Pampered Chef stoneware 10x15" bar pan. It was the best ever. Nice and crisp. The oil from the cheese keeps it from sticking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      Great recipe! I cooked the onions a little before adding them to the recipe. The only problem I had with the whole thing was that there isn't an oven temperature listed in the directions. I baked this at 375 degrees F and it worked out fine. Pair this with Steve's World Famous Sour Cream Chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2002

      This is really good! I often substitue cream of mushroom soup for the chicken soup. I also top it off with French Fried Onions - OHHHH is it awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2002

      I would highly recommend cutting out the butter, as the cheddar adds enough oil to the dish. I used half the sour cream as suggesed by others and also cooked the onions prior to adding to the mixture, and stirred halfway through cooking. I may use reduced fat cheddar next time to see if that makes it less greasy. Also shredded some Russet potatoes that I had to use up instead of the frozen hash browns. My picky BF LOVED it, actually went for seconds (not for ribs or anything else!) oh and the smell was unbelievable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      Yumm!! I substituted cream of mushroom soup for the cream of chicken and I think next time I can do with less margarine. VERY easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      This is a really great tasting casserole! It may not have tasted exactly like Cracker Barrel's on the nose, it may have been BETTER! I tried a number of tricks from various suggestions with a few tweaks of my own and this was my plan: thaw the shredded-type hash browns, use only 1/4 cup margarine, use cheddar cheese soup, use only half of the sour cream (and I used fat-free), brown the onions first, and use fat-free cheddar cheese. I baked this about 15 minutes longer than called for. This was the most enthusiastic my saughter has ever been for a Zaar recipe! She came back for THIRDS! She loves this, and so does everyone else. Who needs Cracker Barrel? Thanks, Rhonda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2002

      Although this was creamy - the sour cream taste was a bit too strong - it's all we could really taste. New time I would cut the sour cream in half - perhaps that would reduce the strong taste. I might also add a bit more soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2001

      excellent, use shredded hashbrown and thaw them first!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2002

      I made this for a pot-luck luncheon at work and it got rave reviews and requests for the recipe. It is easy to make and very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2002

      I make this similar recipe only with tater tots, thawed for 30 minutes. It is delicious, everyone must try it once!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2002

      Nice and easy, cut it in half for my self and husband. I aslo used the mushroom soup. For a little kick I added chopped red onion, red and greeen pepper before backing. I had no cheddar cheese so I used gruyere. There are alot of different things a person can add but the basic recipe is good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2002

      This recipe cries out for ham. Either some diced ham in the casserole or to be served with either a baked ham or fried ham steak with Lima beans and some cornbread. I halved the recipe to serve 4 and cooked an extra long time at a lower temperature after the orginal baking time to make an extra crispy crust on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2002

      I made this for a church dinner and it was gone so fast and people were asking me for the receipe. I did find it was easier to mix the wet ingredents in a bowl before I added them to the hasbrowns in my baking dish. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2002

      I loved this recipe but adjusted it slightly. I used no butter and only 1/2 of the sour cream. I topped with extra shredded cheddar and broiled for a few minutes to brown the top. I also took the advice of one of the other cooks and stirred half way through the cooking time. Delicious! UPDATE: My second time trying this recipte. Another variation: I used 8 oz cottage cheese, 1/4 stick of lowfat cream cheese (blended together until the consistency of sour cream)and sauteed the onion in 2 T of butter. I also used sharp cheddar cheese and this came out better than before!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2002

      Very good and easy to make. Make sure you use shredded potatoes. I tried it once with diced, it wasn't as good. I think I will also try the cream of chedder soup as someone suggested, sounds even better. I bet shredding your own potatoes is even better if you have the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cracker Barrel's Hashbrowns Casserole - Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 488.4
     
    Calories from Fat 339
    69%
    Total Fat 37.7 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 49.9 mg
    16%
    Sodium 751.2 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites