Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Chile-Vinegar Turnip Greens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chile-Vinegar Turnip Greens

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2002

      I was looking for a recipe for greens that didn't use bacon and came across this one and I'm glad I did! I used collard greens and didn't have rice vinegar, so I used red wine vinegar. It turned out very good!Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Excellent! I used 1/2 of the paste and vinegar on one bunch of greens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

    • on June 18, 2012

      The only flavor that really came through was the vinegar. Probably needs more garlic and chili paste than the recipe says. Ours was also very bitter, but that may have been due to the greens we used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I wanted to try a low-fat recipe for turnip greens. I love the ingredients in this recipe. The finished product is WONDERFUL!!!
      Thank you for a new un-guilty pleasure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I thought this was delicious, and I wouldn't change a thing. My boyfriend thought it had a little too much chili-garlic sauce, so if you don't like really spicy food, be warned. I ate this with a loaf of french bread; it was so good! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Loved this! Always looking for new ways to make greens. This was delicious. I only used one teaspoon of chili-garlic sauce and it was pretty spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I thought it was not so great, edible but not great. It reminded my mom of her mom's cooked spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I admit I am not a greens person but since my CSA put them in my box this week, I figured I'd give it a shot since it had such a high ranking and I like many vegtables. My husband and I didn't get close to finishing what was on our plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      I'm used to cooking greens with pork hocks but wanted to try a healthier vegetarian version. The recipe is definitely healthier, but the vinegar flavor really turned us off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Very good. I used a little bit of smoked hog jowl to render some fat instead of olive oil. I sauteed some onion and then added the garlic and cooked until almost brown before adding the rest of the stuff. I also simmered rather than boiling, since I read another recipe that said do not boil the greens. The result is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I have just started getting fresh organic produce delivered each week. The turnips I got had the greens attached. I had no idea how to prepare them, and I don't have any bacon or fat back. This recipe tasted delicious and was so easy to make. I'm going to use it for all my greens!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      the basic premise of this recipe is excellent, but I think a few critical changes are necessary to make it spectacular. Shallow blanch 1 lb greens in 1 Qt salted water for 7 min, then cool quickly in cold water. Meanwhile, cook 1 clove garlic in 1.5 Tbsp oil, along with 1/8 tsp pepper flakes. Toss cooled greens in, and splash with just enough vinegar until it balances with the garlic. Spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      SO GOOD!!!!! My husband and I loved this recipe, and we're going to try it on some other greens too. I didn't have chili paste so I sprikled a bit of cayenne pepper instead. Yum!!! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2006

      Great! These were the best greens I have ever made. So flavorful. However, my family insisted on bacon in their greens, so I substituted bacon for the chili paste. Next time I am making the recipe as is! Thanks, S'kat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2006

      I know I'll be making this many, many times in my future, it's SO flavorful for something that's so nutritious. I love greens and this is a great way of preparing them. Thanks so much for posting this great recipe s'kat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      Wow, this turned out really, really good. I made this as directed except I didn't have any chili paste with garlic, so I substituted some chile caribe flakes. About 1-2 tsps. I think. The greens didn't turn that brown/green color, I guess because of the vinegar. The taste was firey, but not too hot for the palete. Full of flavor. Thanks for sharing your great recipe. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      Excellent taste. Fat free and flavorful(l). Looking forward to trying this with other greens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2004

      Most recipes for turnip greens calls for bacon fat. This recipe is excellent minus the fat. I followed the directions except they cooked in about 30 minutes. The last few minutes, I removed the lid, turned up the heat and allowed the liquid to cook down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chile-Vinegar Turnip Greens

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 63.9
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    33%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 232.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chili paste with garlic

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites