Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Chicken, Shrimp, and Sausage Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken, Shrimp, and Sausage Stew

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2002

      I told my husband to get on this site and find something for us to make for dinner. This is what he came up with. WOW!!! What powerful and intense flavor. Your stew has a very hearty and savoury flavor that kept us coming back for more. Thank-you Nurse Di. This is going to be something we will make over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

    • on February 21, 2010

      A friend made this recently and I loved it. I had to have the recipe. I made it yesterday and my dh loved it too. This is a keeper and a go-to. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      I made this for my dh and my father and they loved it!! It does make a lot but leftovers are wonderful. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Love love LOVE this recipe! Thanks so much for posting. This makes a lot, but everyone will eat till they're ready to pop so you may not have many leftovers. I followed it to the letter and it was perfect. Found all the ingredients at Super Wal-Mart, even the wine (used the $1.97 stuff, not bad at all). Great with hot french bread & served over brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      This was superb! Really good over rice! I don't care for bell peppers, but went ahead and used them anyway - and it was fab! You need them to round out the flavors. I used the chicken thighs, polish sausage (b/c I couldn't find andouille) and ended up using 2 lbs. of shrimp, just so I wouldn't have any remaining that might go bad if I didn't use it ASAP. Really wonderful recipe!! Not too difficult to make, just takes some time to let everything come together like it needs to. Will absolutely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      I was tired of the same old stew with potatoes and carrots, so when I saw this recipe I thought I'd give it a try. I don't really care for bell peppers and chicken is just alright and my boyfriend doesn't really care for stews or sausage but there was something about this recipe. I'm so glad I tried it, it was INCREDIBLE, even my BF said it was a keeper! The only thing I changed was I substituted a TBS of Cayenne pepper for the paprika (personal preference). If you haven't tried this recipe you absolutely have to! next time I think I am going to add some more broth and some small pieces of pasta

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      WOW!!! I am a Cajun, and THIS is Cajun cookin' at it's best!! I just wish I could give it more than 5 stars. The only change I made was a personal preference. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into thirds. Next time, I'm doubling this one so I will have plenty frozen up for extra meals. Thanks, NurseDi for another winner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      YUM. This was awesome. I more than doubled it just to make sure we'd have leftovers. Used Italian sausages instead of andouille, added a couple handfuls of crumbled bacon, and added celery in with the onions and peppers. Thanks, Nurse Di, for a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      This aroma was wonderful. I cut up chicken breasts and used spicy italian sausage b/c thats what I had. First night served over noodles, second night spices melded and served on rice (highly recommend rice). This is wonderful! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2005

      Had no idea this would turn out so well. Excellent spicy flavor with lots of chunky ingredients. Very hearty and satisfying. I was hoping for left-overs for the next day's lunch but it was not to be. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      As they say in New Orleans, “Laissez les bon temps rouler” (Let the good times roll!) That is exactly what you will have when you combine this wonderful recipe with hot crusty french bread and the spirits of your choice! I made this last night for a birthday dinner for my ds's girlfriend. Didn't change one thing, made it exactly by the recipe. Hoo Boy, this stew is savory, spicy and truly downhome delicious! The seasoning from the andouille just puts it over the top!! Thank you Di! Another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      Delish!! I didn't change a thing. Great flavors that got even better the second day! Wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2004

      Wowie!! I made this last weekend and we ate the last of the left-overs last night. Very, very delicious and easier to make than I at first thought. I had to search out the andouille sausage but it was worth the hunt. Real spicy and hearty. The wine added a nice touch to the flavor. Worth repeating. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      Delicious! The only change I made was to substitute ham for the chicken. Next time I make this, I'll use the chicken. I served this with a baked potato and french bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      This was just fabulous! I changed a few things and it was the best, my husband could not stop raving. I used chicken breasts instead of thighs, I used hot italian sausage instead of andouille, and I substitued a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes for the white wine. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken, Shrimp, and Sausage Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (664 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 642.3
     
    Calories from Fat 331
    51%
    Total Fat 36.8 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 217.5 mg
    72%
    Sodium 1838.2 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 45.6 g
    91%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes