9 Reviews

This recipe was simple and absolutely delicious! I doubled the cajun seasoning and it was perfect for us! Thank you for sharing a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie_Okie November 14, 2008

I'm skipping the star rating because I don't think this is a bad recipe - it just wasn't to our taste. Although the fish was moist, it turned out bland (not spicy at all, and the breading really didn't have a flavor) - perhaps it was because I used tilapia instead of catfish? Or maybe it was the panko crumbs? We also found the sauce way too mayonnaise-y. We won't be having this again, but thanks anyway for sharing! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 October 08, 2008

These were amazing. I don't usually get excited about a recipe and tried this one because it sounded interesting and I had some extra catfish. This was great. I wouldn't change a thing. You could easily substitute any white flaky fish in the recipe and it would work great. Thank for a wonderful recipe. I can't wait to make these for friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk June 28, 2008

What a unique recipe. I did add a little more cajun seasoning after tasting first batch that hubby fried in his deep fryer outside. Used about 2 teaspoons and it was perfect, not too spicy but had a little zing. Absolutely LOVED the dipping sauce but boy does it make alot! Hubby has lots of ways to use the dipping sauce with other foods so I'll keep that part of recipe as a separate one. Thanks for a great recipe!! Made of PAC 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon the Rocket April 13, 2008

Superb fried fish! I agree definitely can make a meal!! We had these with some homemad fries, too. The only thing I didn't do was the sauce, but will definitely try it for next time. Also, I did flounder instead of catfish. Rave reviews around the table!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady February 20, 2008

Rated awesome by my husband and son. I will definately be making this again. I liked the Spicy dipping sauce. I did use bread crumbs instead of the panko, but it was nice and crispy anyways. As sides I made pineapple coleslaw and baked cubed sweet potatoes. Was a great meal. Thank you for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rcgossett June 12, 2007

I agree with Pot Scrubber, this is great for a meal!!! Of course, here in my small town, but then you know about that since you live here also, there is no way to find those fancy bread crumbs, but regular homemade crumbs work just as well!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen July 22, 2006

We made these a meal as well, along with SusieQusie's Texas Fries! Oh what a night! hehehe These were fantastic. I could not find any panko crumbs here- shock! lol We can not find anything that is not 'ordinary' Texan in this little town! Next time we go to the 'big city' I will make sure to get some and try them. Thanks for a great recipe that we will use again I am sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) July 21, 2006

Appetizers? What are you talking about? We made these as a meal! A big, fat, belly busting meal. There were only three of us and we ate until we were going to pop. I have never used panko crumbs with catfish before and it was a real tasty surprise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber July 19, 2006
Catfish Poppers With Spicy Dipping Sauce