11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

First thing I would like to say is that I doubled this casserole for everyone at work and added garlic powder to the beef while browning. I assembled it according to directions, and looked at it and said "OMG it's just YELLOW!!". BORING LOOKING! I probably would have passed it up at the buffet table (BUT it tasted good). So for "eye" appeal, I quickly sauteed coarsely chopped red and green peppers, wedged onion chunks and sliced baby portabellos. I then tossed it in the prepped casserole with an 8 oz carton of sour cream, and baked as directed. Well, the color just added something to the dish, that had tasted great before. My coworkers devoured this dish in no time flat!I will definitely make this again.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. January 02, 2003

This dish was simple to make and it tasted great. While browning the beef I added a little bit of red and green bell peppers for color along with a small onion. I did however forget the corn but my results still came out great. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanette G November 04, 2003

I found a new comfort food! We loved this dish and I wouldn't change a thing except as the others have said, I probably would add some red and green peppers (or maybe some parsley) just for some color when serving it to guests. We loved the flavor and I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for sharing, Lynn13.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot October 30, 2003

I loved this recipe. I myself thought it was too yellow so I added the red and green peppers and well just for some color. This dish went fast at a family Sunday dinner potluck. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyof 3 March 31, 2003

Easy meal with good flavor. I used ground turkey instead of beef. Served with green veggies to offset the color:-)

Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wilfong February 27, 2012

I made this recipe directly as written. It was pretty tasty, very filling, and fairly easy to put together. I don't think it would be something i'd serve to company, but it worked well for me and DH.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerysummersun September 25, 2009

super easy. .no fuss. .added veggies as suggested in other reviews, and it came out great. thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jasmineosuna May 21, 2009

Added other veggies, but this is too bland and uninspired for my taste. I can see where it would be a crowd pleaser and a good way to stretch a buffet. Good and easy last minute effort, but don't make it for dinner in my opinion

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraBelle July 08, 2008

We really liked this! I read all the reviews, and since I didn't have any peppers on hand, I just used a bit of garlic powder and onion salt. Turned out great and EVERYONE had seconds. Hubby and I went back for more later that night too. ^^ Thanks for a really easy and filling meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Nachtigal March 12, 2006

I added garlic, green pepper, and onion. It tasted OK, but I don't think I'll be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miki-d November 06, 2003
Caterers Casserole