Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Carolina Buttermilk Biscuits (And/Or Southern Shortcake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carolina Buttermilk Biscuits (And/Or Southern Shortcake)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2011

      These are pretty good! I made the recipe exactly as directed. They were not the fluffiest I've ever eaten, but they are the fluffiest I have ever made! This is a start to getting my dream fluffy biscuits.

      I also want to add that these make the best dumplings ever!!! Just make the biscuit dough as directed, drop into your soup and cook through!!! Thank you NcMysteryShopper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      I'm probably going to be written out of the will, but I'm tossing my mother's biscuit recipe in the trash! THIS is my new biscuit recipe. I made these for strawberry shortcake - added in about 1/4 cup sugar and sprinkled the tops with cinnamon sugar - and I couldn't resist tasting one shortly after taking them out of the oven. They were so pretty AND the taste and texture was perfect. Truly, this is a wonderful recipe and one that I will continue to use. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      I've never made biscuits that were anything but bricks. I used whole wheat flour - white hard spring wheat. They still turned out great! Yay!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      Best buttermilk biscuit recipe I've found so far. Nice rise, flaky and moist with just the right amount of salt. Really good with blueberry preserves! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      I had left over buttermilk I wanted to use up so went looking for biscuits. Most I saw required a food processor which I don't have and then I found this one - lucky for me I did too as the end result was mile high, soft, flaky biscuits with the slight tang of buttermilk. So great. The only thing I did differant was brush the tops with a beaten egg before popping in the oven. A lot easier to make than I expected. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      These are very good biscuits. The texture was very nice. Will use this recipe again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      These were delicious. Being in NC myself I have tasted many Southern biscuits, these are as close as they get to Grandma's. I was glad to use up some leftover buttermilk. I didn't know what to do with the 2 Tbsp. buttermilk it called for in the recipe. Didn't need it really. I am high elevation so I used the convection part of the oven and they came out perfect. Thanks for posting NcMysteryShopper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Oooooh, these were good. I added more sugar (1/4 cup) to make these into shortcakes. I also used whole wheat flour because that's what I had on hand--they still turned out great. 8 minutes was perfect timing for a perfect shortcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Another great biscuit recipe! My family enjoys homemade biscuits on Sunday mornings. I surprised them with a different recipe today and they loved it! These biscuits came out not only beautiful, but had a nice crisp texture on the flip side and creamy soft texture on the inside. YUM, will definitely make them like this again. Thanks for sharing the way you make biscuits! (Made for Bevy Tag 10/08) ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Thanks so much for sharing your great biscuit recipe NcMS. The biscuits were easy to make and I had them on the table in 20 minutes. These big, thick biscuits were crisp and tender, with great texture and flavour. I will be making these wonderful biscuits often. Update: I made these to serve at a dinner party recently and they were so well received that all the guests went home with the recipe. These are awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Very nice quality shortcake. I did use whole wheat pastry flour and only 4 Tablespoons of butter as that is what I had. They still came out lovely although next time if I am making them strictly for shortcakes, I will add more sugar to the dough, maybe 2 T?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Just what I wanted, a light, slightly sweet shortcake. I followed the recipe, using cold butter and 3/4 cup buttermilk. I threw the dry ingredients in the food processor, put in the butter and when it became coarse meal I put in the buttermilk and then baked it in a pie pan for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. Yum-m-m it was so good with strawberries. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      These are what I always use for biscuits and gravy and they turn out perfect every time, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      This is the most best recipe for Biscuits!, I ever came across. I got to say I've made these about 5 times now and never rated them because I wanted to post a picture of them,thats why I didn't rate them yet. But my hubby and me and my 5 year child moved and we've been very busy, so don't know when I will be able to take pics of food again, hopefully soon. Anyhow thanks NcMysteryShopper, if Im right your name is Cheryl??....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      These were delicious biscuits. Reminded me of Grandma's. I am going to use this recipe for shortcake, too! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Absolutely loved these. Easy and yummy. Had to cook them for 10 minutes. Not too bad the second day, usually biscuits are not so good the next day, but I liked them heated up in the microwave and gobbled them up. I will definitely use these for strawberry shortcake. Thanks NC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      These baked up beautifully and were delicious as well. Added the extra sugar because I made strawberry shortcake with them. Loved it. I also froze the leftover biscuits for future use so we can enjoy them a second time. Thanks for sharing your super recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carolina Buttermilk Biscuits (And/Or Southern Shortcake)

    Serving Size: 1 (552 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 133.0
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    38%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 5.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 266.7 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes