11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great tasting sweet taters! I used the cajun seasoning and forgot to add the dried herbs. It was still yummy. I only used 1 tbsp olive oil and didn't cover and cooked for 25 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty May 30, 2013

Real tasty sweet potatoes! I found they got too soft after 45 minutes- as I like some substance to my veggies, I think next time I'll reduce the baking time to 30-35 minutes. Basil worked well as the dried herb, and I would have reduced the oil, except I used BIG potatoes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child April 15, 2008

Yum, I loved the combination of sweet & spicy these gave. I think that 3 tblsp oil may be a bit much though so will cut that back to 2 tblsp next time. Made for ZWT III.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** July 02, 2007

These were an absolute delight! The smooth creamy sweet potato and the spice from the cajun seasoning went together so well! This have made it to our table twice this week and will many more time over the winter months. Reviewed for ZWT3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie June 15, 2007

Very similar to the cajun sweet potato fries that I made often. Hubby and I loved them but the kids thought they were too spicy. Next time I will make them a batch without the cajun seasoning. Made for zwt 07

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping June 08, 2007

YUM! I adore sweet potato fries so I knew that this would be a hit for me and my family, and it sure was! Loved the kick that these babies have, a def. make again! Made for ZWT 3!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme May 30, 2007

These were very good. The more I ate it the more I liked it. The whole time I kept thinking that it needed garlic, then I realized I forgot to add it in! I would have liked some guidance on what herbs to use..I went with thyme and rosemary and it was very tasty. I do not like sweet potatoes made with lots of sweet additives and the brown sugar called for in this was perfect for my taste along with the spicy cajun flavor. There was enough salt and papper in my cajun spice that I did not need to add it or it would have been salty. I cooked these covered at 375 since I was cooking something else along with them for about 35 minutes and they were almost overdone. Next time I will uncover them for the last 10 minutes to slow down the cooking and maybe crisp them up a little. Thanks for a very good recipe Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly M. April 03, 2006

I wasn't sure which herbs to use either, so used oregano. I'm not sure that was the best choice. Although I am a garlic lover, next time I would use less as the flavor somewhat overpowered the others in this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 December 26, 2005

Really nice change from plain sweet potatoes. Loved the sweet and spicy combo in this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) October 03, 2005

These were very good. I left out the "dried herbs" cause I didn't know what to put in them and upped the brownsugar to 2 tablespoons and it turned out really good. Baked these for 45 minutes and they were perfect. Thanks Rita for another great one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ September 12, 2005
Cajun Sweet Potatoes