Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Blackened Spicy Snapper Fillets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blackened Spicy Snapper Fillets

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2002

      Easy to make! I cut the recipe in half (well, the computer did all the work) and used it as more of a rub. My husband put the fillets on the grill in a basket and they were delicious. I did add some olive oil to the butter- just because I always have to be different. Definately will try this again- probably will be good on grouper too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      Wonderful recipe!! The spice combination is awesome. Have had blackened snapper at several restaurants and this was better than any of those. Makes me long for a trip to New Orleans. Thanks Barbara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2002

      I am interested in great fish recipes. This certainly turned out to be one of them. The spice mix was there. I didn't have to use as much butter as was called for and it still had a good blackened coating. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      Hey Barbara, my family and I really dig this snapper recipe. Your blackened seasoning mix is superb and I plan to use it on other fish and chicken. This recipe was very easy to follow and produced a very spicy, delicious, and tender snapper fillet. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2002

      I made this recipe last night for dinner and it was really good. I cut back on the butter some, using as little as possible to cut back on the fat grams. I'll definately make it again. Thanks! Good fish recipes are hard to find.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2003

      Great spice mixture. I used this spice mixture to season chicken breasts for chicken caesar salad (Traditional Caesar Salad). I only used half of the cayenne pepper and it was still a little too spicy for my kids. Next time I will use 1/4 of the cayenne and 1/2 of the salt. This was my first attempt at making a blackened seasoning and it was much better than the pre-made stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      This recipe is sooo good. The blend of spices is excellent and I'll definitely be making it again! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2003

      This recipe is truly delicious and, since making it, I cannot live without having the spice mix on hand. I have also used it on meat and chicken; excellent on both. Last night I used a scant teaspoon of melted butter rubbed on the meaty side of a salmon fillet, added a bit of lemon zest to the spices, sprinkled liberally on top and baked at 400*; moist, delicious, colorful and flavorful, yet very healthy and low in fat. Any of a number of sauces would go well on this. Next time I do the spices, I'm making a triple batch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Amazing!! I can't wait to make it again!! I only used about half the butter and I halved the cayenne and it was perfect for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Very tasty and extremely easy. I have replaced butter with olive oil and the results was great. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I find myself in agreement with Recipe Zaar subscribers almost 100% of the time...I must disagree this go round. Followed recipe exactly, even cut down on the cayanne and salt based upon recommendations. Still too salty and the taste was hot, but lacking in any flavor. I will look for a new blackened recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      This spice mix is superb! I actually use it so much I made a large amount of it and keep it in a jar in my spice cabinet. I did some variations on this since I made it on the grill and I think all fish needs garlic. I melt the butter in the microwave along with a glove of garlic and some parsley. I sprinkle the spices generously on the snapper and then baste with the butter mixture at least twice while it's on the grill. Absolutely WONDERFUL! Garlicy, spicy, and buttery. I use this a lot on sea bass fillets as well. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      Great rub! We used this on some mahi mahi while on vacation in Florida last week and it was delicious! We made a half recipe...significantly cut down on the butter (maybe about 2-3 tablespoons), added only about 1 tsp salt and left out the parsley since we didn't have it. It was really spicy and I love spicy, but I might cut down the cayenne just a bit next time. We'll definitely be trying this on some chicken at home! Thanks for posting...it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      Good, but too salty for our taste buds. I will definitely make again, but next time add less salt. Very good recipe! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2005

      Very good! I used salmon fillets instead. The only thing I will do next time is lighten up on the salt. Other than that...delicous

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2005

      I have never blackened anything (on purpose) before, so when my kitchen filled with smoke, I thought I was doing something wrong. But when I finally tried the fish, I knew I did everything right. This recipe is really easy but yielded some very moist, spicy, and altogether delicious fish. It looked exactly like the blackened fish you get in restaurants and tasted just as good. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      This recipe was really easy, but tasted like I had to work hard to make it. The spices were excellent, but I only used 1/2 cup butter. Thanks for sharing the recipe - it's definitely a KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      I had great results using much less butter! I decline to give a rating because I changed some things, but what I came up with was extremely delicious. It looked so good my fish-wary daughter wanted some and proclaimed it 'really good!' I used tilapia instead of snapper. I couldn't use as much paprika because I ran out, and I don't like much heat so I only used about 1/4 tsp.of cayenne. Instead of dipping the fillets in butter I brushed them with it, and sprinkled the spice mix on rather heavily. I put a bit of butter in the pan, too. These looked like something you'd have at a restautant, and I will definitely be making these again. Some of the BEST fish I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      What can I say that others havn't said, this is one terrific recipe. Will keep a mixture of these spices in the bottle all the time as it would be great with chicken too. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2004

      This was FANTASTIC! I am going to bottle this spice mix! I made whole snapper and chicken (I won't eat eyeball and bone in fish). My DH said the snapper was the best fish he's had in a long time and the boys and I were thrilled with the chicken. I'm so glad I tried this recipe! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blackened Spicy Snapper Fillets

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 855.5
     
    Calories from Fat 654
    76%
    Total Fat 72.7 g
    111%
    Saturated Fat 44.4 g
    222%
    Cholesterol 262.9 mg
    87%
    Sodium 2335.0 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 46.6 g
    93%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites