Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Big Daddy's Carolina Style Barbecue Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Big Daddy's Carolina Style Barbecue Sauce

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2012

      Terrific BBQ sauce! Looking forward to slathering it on grilled chicken tonight. For now, the taste right out of the bowl is spot on - tangy, slightly sweet, love the mustard base. Halved the recipe; yield was about 1 cup. Used about 1/4 tsp chipotle chili powder in place of liquid smoke [none on hand].

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      One word: YUM! We did a 9 lb pork roast for shredding - need 2.5x recipe of this awesome sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      I just made this sauce, and after it cooled down, I took a taste, I cant stop tasting it because its so good, I am going to let it sit in the fridge a couple days, to use an a 12 pound pork butt shoulder blade I am going to smoke, cant wait to taste it on the meat, I tripled the recipe, I just cut down on the cayanne, and I did not use the liqid smoke, because I am going to smoke the meat with hickory chunks. cant wait to try on pork ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      I made half the recipe. This bbq sauce is so good. I like the taste of smoke liquid in recipes and it was great also in this sauce. Thanks Rita :) Made for All you can cook buffet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Made this for a pig roast yesterday. Made a double batch and there is none left over. This will be made again, and again and again... Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      I'm not a big fan of the mustard/vinagar based sauces, but DH is so I printed this recipe and gave it to him to make for himself and he used it on a boston butt he smoked last weekend. He made me try it and to my surprise, I loved it, lol. After 30 years of marriage and BBQ, we can now share a wonderful sauce we both love. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      I made this for my pulled pork. I had to make a couple of substitutions as my pantry was short. I used regular vinegar instead of cider and I found out I was out of liquid smoke so I used smoked paprika instead. A great sauce, thickened nicely and I'll use it on chicken as well. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      I've tried it and I like it. I made it exactly as the ingredients stated. I know some like to "tweak" recipes before trying it. I don't particularly like that approach, but that's me. Having said that, after making it the first time as is, I used 1/2 of the sugar and brown sugar and it was more to my liking. Very good sauce, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      I made a big mistake and cut this in half since only 2 of us like bbq sauce. Poor DH almost cried when he asked for more and I said there wasn't any! Halved, it cooked down to only 1/2 cup of sauce. I was hoping this was similar to a bbq we had in N. Carolina this past summer, but this was BETTER! What a powerful punch of flavor! I mixed this in with some pulled pork for sandwiches and it was divine. We both thank you, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      This was a very good sauce. It was excellent drizzled over my husbands smoked pork. I have grown tired of tomato based sasuces- and this one is a fantastic alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      This was fabulous. I've never made this type of sauce before and just loved it. Thanks for the recipe, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2005

      Oh boy, this was good. I used it on chicken wings, broiling them in the oven. The guys liked it alot, and although I didn't eat the chicken wings, I did love the sauce. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Big Daddy's Carolina Style Barbecue Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (28 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 44.0
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    30%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 145.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid smoke

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes