13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Terrific BBQ sauce! Looking forward to slathering it on grilled chicken tonight. For now, the taste right out of the bowl is spot on - tangy, slightly sweet, love the mustard base. Halved the recipe; yield was about 1 cup. Used about 1/4 tsp chipotle chili powder in place of liquid smoke [none on hand].

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. June 24, 2012

I want to first offer my apology for writing this as I hate having to give a negative review, but in the interest of others who may make this recipe based upon the reviews I want to offer some caution.<br/><br/>This review should have been written some time ago right after I had made and tried the sauce(I don't know why it wasn't), but the feeling and memory of the experience was so strong it lingers to this day. <br/><br/>I'd say about a couple of years ago I tried this recipe to use on some pork ribs and to me it was simply INEDIBLE.<br/><br/>While I had some reservations and doubts about the recipe, I choose to go ahead and make it based upon the many and overwhelmingly positive reviews which were posted. I think I read something about how it was the best of 3 different BBQ sauces which someone made, how even a picky child had liked it and stuff like that, people calling it great even when they don't really like barbecue sauce. So hearing this I went ahead and made it, I believe as written.<br/><br/>I realize it was "Carolina style" sauce, mustard and vinegar based and was fine with that because I love mustard, all types and could eat it straight out of the bottle, but for some reason, in this recipe it was simply intolerable.<br/><br/>I write this because I am still upset at all the time and food/condiments I had wasted. In fact, the recipe was so bad to me and I'm so die hard at not trying to waste anything, I tried to "fix" the recipe(after making it as written) by adding ketchup and more brown sugar, whatever I had, but it was still waaay too tangy or vinegary, or sour our whatever, just inedible. <br/><br/>If you want to make it go ahead, but I'll warn you that it does not taste like a traditional barbecue sauce and I would recommend maybe making it in a smaller quantity and sample it before you put it on your meat. You don't want to learn the hard way like I did, having to throw everything away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceruleanveritas February 04, 2015

One word: YUM! We did a 9 lb pork roast for shredding - need 2.5x recipe of this awesome sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeMineCadburys March 11, 2013

I just made this sauce, and after it cooled down, I took a taste, I cant stop tasting it because its so good, I am going to let it sit in the fridge a couple days, to use an a 12 pound pork butt shoulder blade I am going to smoke, cant wait to taste it on the meat, I tripled the recipe, I just cut down on the cayanne, and I did not use the liqid smoke, because I am going to smoke the meat with hickory chunks. cant wait to try on pork ribs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fussbudget1 July 04, 2012

I made half the recipe. This bbq sauce is so good. I like the taste of smoke liquid in recipes and it was great also in this sauce. Thanks Rita :) Made for All you can cook buffet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette September 07, 2011

Made this for a pig roast yesterday. Made a double batch and there is none left over. This will be made again, and again and again... Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim May 31, 2010

I'm not a big fan of the mustard/vinagar based sauces, but DH is so I printed this recipe and gave it to him to make for himself and he used it on a boston butt he smoked last weekend. He made me try it and to my surprise, I loved it, lol. After 30 years of marriage and BBQ, we can now share a wonderful sauce we both love. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarshHen August 23, 2009

I made this for my pulled pork. I had to make a couple of substitutions as my pantry was short. I used regular vinegar instead of cider and I found out I was out of liquid smoke so I used smoked paprika instead. A great sauce, thickened nicely and I'll use it on chicken as well. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whatscooking June 15, 2009

I've tried it and I like it. I made it exactly as the ingredients stated. I know some like to "tweak" recipes before trying it. I don't particularly like that approach, but that's me. Having said that, after making it the first time as is, I used 1/2 of the sugar and brown sugar and it was more to my liking. Very good sauce, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Mad Slovak February 27, 2009

I made a big mistake and cut this in half since only 2 of us like bbq sauce. Poor DH almost cried when he asked for more and I said there wasn't any! Halved, it cooked down to only 1/2 cup of sauce. I was hoping this was similar to a bbq we had in N. Carolina this past summer, but this was BETTER! What a powerful punch of flavor! I mixed this in with some pulled pork for sandwiches and it was divine. We both thank you, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick July 29, 2008
Big Daddy's Carolina Style Barbecue Sauce