Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Beet Greens with Beets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beet Greens with Beets

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2003

      Di, you are going to think I'm nuts, but this sounded so good, had to try it. Couldn't find any beet greens except some awful looking, with really old big leaves, soooo, I used some lovely nice fresh spinach! with canned baby beets. It turned out delicious!! the garlic, ginger and lemon are a great combination, I can hardly wait for spring to try it with nice fresh beets with young beet greens. Thanks for sharing, beets are one of our favourite veggies and we will enjoy this recipe often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

      Absolutely awesome and I even forgot the lemon. I have had this recipe in my cookbook since December and have been anxiously awaiting the first fresh beets at the farmer's market. This was well worth the wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      Really good. I had a HUGE bunch of fresh beets from the grocery store and wanted a way to cook the tops as well as the roots. The way the recipe is written, the root part doesn't get cooked much at all (perhaps it's written for canned beets) so I boiled my cubed beet roots until they were soft and then added them to the sauteed greens. We loved 'em, thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Sorry - but the lemon was so overpowering niether of us could eat it and we love beets and the greens. I tasted it without the lemon and it was very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      My husband liked it. However I wasn't to crazy about it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2003

      What a delicious recipe! This one is definitely a keeper. Thanks you for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      Very tasty, savory way to enjoy both the red and the green! I had a couple of rather large, older beets from the garden. To compensate for tougher leaves, I cut off the stems, cut them in 1-inch lengths, and boiled them for a few minutes before adding in the chopped greens. I didn't have any fresh ginger, so I substituted 1/8 tsp. powdered ginger plus 1/8 tsp. horseradish. Everything came out wonderfully! Thank you for providing a tasty non-sweet way of enjoying beets, and the greens, too. I'm looking forward to trying some variations with other greens and frozen beets this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      This was not very good. I hated beets and was hoping this would help me eat them, especially for health reasons, but the flavors did not gel for me at all. What did actually work was an accidental attempt to turn this dish into a salad. I added some arugula and feta cheese and ended up having two servings of this dish!! Thank God for divine intervention!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      This is the first time I've tried the greens of the beetroot, but we got a bunch from the farmers market, with the tops, so I thought I'd give it a go an it was very good. I didn't pre-boil the tops, but saute'd them with the stalks and then added the pre-roasted beetroots. I also added a bit of hot sauce, but it really didn't need it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      Excellent recipe! I skipped the boiling part and just added in the chopped greens with the garlic and ginger and sauteed the whole thing for 3-4 minutes before adding the cooked, chopped beets. I used a small bunch of little golden beets from our farmer's market and halved the recipe. My husband and I enjoyed this very much....he didn't like beets before but does now! Thanks so much for the recipe Dib :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Way tastier than I ever thought beets could be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      My family always likes the canned beets and I found some nice beets at the farmers market. I was hesitant to use the greens because I normally don't like the texture, but I also didn't want to throw them away. I tried this recipe and there were no leftovers :) These were great and I have been waiting all winter to be able to use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      yum yum yum! i was making a beet-orange salad with Orange Beets and didn't want to waste the greens. so glad i didn't!!! following another's review, i made these greens and stuffed them into crepes using Crepes. this was the best lunch i have had in a long, long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      This is a great recipe! I didn't have garlic so I sauteed an onion instead and I used golden beets. I used the cooked greens to stuff whole wheat crepes...a really good lunch; thanks for posting it, I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Excellent. I got fresh beets from our local farmer's market. Simply delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This recipe is wonderful. Very good with the ginger. It was my first time cooking beets and we are making it again tonight. Great way to use the whole beet. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Beets are one of my favorite vegetables and this recipe was awesome using fresh beets! I doubled the recipe and we had enough leftover to freeze for another time. My favorite recipes box will be happy to have this one sitting in it! Thanks DiB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      The first time I had beet greens, I hated them. My husband made them but he overcooked them so they were mushy like overcooked spinach. These were great though. I didn't have fresh ginger so I used dried. I also sauteed a little bit of chopped yellow pepper with the garlic because I had some that I needed to cook. A little sweet onion might be good with it, too. Next time, I might not boil the greens first, or I might just very lightly steam them. Thanks. This was a great recipe. I used the beets from Eierkoeken (Eggcakes) but didn't add them to this mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2005

      I liked that this dish added some spice, rather than more sweetness, to the beets. I have another recipe for sauteed beet greens that doesn't call for boiling them first, so I am not sure that that is necessary as long as they are tender. I did parboil them, though, and then I scooped them out of the boiling water and then used the water to cook linguine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      Wonderful when made with baked garden fresh beets. Made this just as written but it was served on the plate with chicken drizzled with honey-butter. That honey-butter was just delicious when it ran into the beets. Tasted a lot like Harvard beets. Either way this is a great way to apppreciate beets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Vegetable Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beet Greens with Beets

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 80.7
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    34%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 113.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    greens

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites