9 Reviews

Made this last weekend for a family get-together. You are so right, it makes a spectacular presentation. The stew was simple but very hearty. I didn't add any herbs but might consider adding some thyme and marjoram next time. Thanks for a splendid and festive meal for our family.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes November 02, 2002

I have always wanted to make beef stew in a pumpkin but have suffered from serious pumpkin phobia. With the help of my best friend, we conquered the big pumpkin together. I can't begin to describe how beautiful this looked and how delicious it smelled. The taste did not disappoint us either. We were all just amazed. We are going to make this a yearly tradition. Thanks so much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laylagirl November 12, 2002

I highly recommend this recipe, not only is it brautiful (The oiled pumpkin appeared glazed into a the burnt sienna crayon colored) The flavor-Delicious-earthy and rustic. I added more stew beef than recipe stated, added 2 bay leaves, 1 tsp. ea, marjoram and thyme. Instead of ading the tomatoes and beef granules later I added them in the 1st 2 hours of simmering and added perhaps another cup of water due to the addtion of extra beef. In the initial step I ommited salt, thinking 2 Tbsp. of granules would be enough, it wasn't so, added that and a good enough amt. of gravy master since I prefer a darker stew. Only complaint I would say that there wasn't rich broth and cutting the pumpkin was a pain next time I'll take my DHs Sawzall (sp) to it. Fantastic recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat November 09, 2009

I?ve stuffed pumpkins a few times before, with the original and some of the variations of the bread, cheese, bacon recipe found at http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=130704456. But I was excited to try a totally different twist. I only wish I could get pumpkins for a longer stretch of the year! This was great; five stars says my DH. I did make a few changes: added a bunch of herbs (oregano, basil, marjoram, thyme) but more importantly tossed the beef chunks in seasoned (S&P) flour before cooking, which definitely thickened up the sauce and made them a little browner. Added a little more liquid to compensate. Would also add a glug or two of red wine if I had an open bottle. If it doesn't seem beefy enough, I'd add a tad of anchovy paste or just one anchovy smooshed in. My 4.5lb pumpkin was still more than enough for three of us and only took an hour to cook. I?ll scrape out the rest of the meat and toss with the stew leftovers that didn't fit in it. Another possibility: It's definitely a full meal, but could use a little more green, in my opinion. Next time I might add some green beans, in the stew or just on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anomy December 04, 2014

I made this last night and it was absolutely wonderful. It was well worth the effort and like other reviewers already mentioned, the presentation is just fantastic. thanks for posting this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 November 14, 2008

This is delicious and very fun to prepare. All of the ingredients blended well and were very easy to find at the store.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ October 22, 2008

This stew was the hit of my Halloween party!! The house smelled divine when my guests arrived, and I gotta tell you, this is the best beef stew I have ever made (not to mention the presentation is pretty spectacular!!). Everything was soooo tender, and the taste was divine. I'm planning on making it again this Halloween...I can hardly wait!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky74 October 14, 2007

For the longest time, I have wanted to make stew in a pumpkin. My sister-in-law did one last year and it was awesome. I thought it was going to be much harder than it really was. I added a couple of bay leaves, a teaspoon thyme, and some cayenne pepper to the stew. Tasted hearty and looked very impressive. Wish I had taken a picture of it. I had such a positive experience, I am thinking about doing this again for Halloween. Thanks Nurse Di.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauren-Grace October 16, 2003

My husband got me a big, beautiful pumpkin just so I could make this stew. The hardest part is cleaning the thing out and getting it ready. I followed your stew recipe and did not make any changes. Turned out so beautiful and tasted great. I took a picture but don't have a digital camera so can't post here :( Very memorable and delicious. Thanks Nurse Di.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bella214 November 09, 2002
Beef Stew in a Pumpkin