Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Southern / Beef Stew in a Pumpkin Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beef Stew in a Pumpkin

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2002

      Made this last weekend for a family get-together. You are so right, it makes a spectacular presentation. The stew was simple but very hearty. I didn't add any herbs but might consider adding some thyme and marjoram next time. Thanks for a splendid and festive meal for our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2002

      I have always wanted to make beef stew in a pumpkin but have suffered from serious pumpkin phobia. With the help of my best friend, we conquered the big pumpkin together. I can't begin to describe how beautiful this looked and how delicious it smelled. The taste did not disappoint us either. We were all just amazed. We are going to make this a yearly tradition. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I highly recommend this recipe, not only is it brautiful (The oiled pumpkin appeared glazed into a the burnt sienna crayon colored) The flavor-Delicious-earthy and rustic. I added more stew beef than recipe stated, added 2 bay leaves, 1 tsp. ea, marjoram and thyme. Instead of ading the tomatoes and beef granules later I added them in the 1st 2 hours of simmering and added perhaps another cup of water due to the addtion of extra beef. In the initial step I ommited salt, thinking 2 Tbsp. of granules would be enough, it wasn't so, added that and a good enough amt. of gravy master since I prefer a darker stew. Only complaint I would say that there wasn't rich broth and cutting the pumpkin was a pain next time I'll take my DHs Sawzall (sp) to it. Fantastic recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      I made this last night and it was absolutely wonderful. It was well worth the effort and like other reviewers already mentioned, the presentation is just fantastic. thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      This is delicious and very fun to prepare. All of the ingredients blended well and were very easy to find at the store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This stew was the hit of my Halloween party!! The house smelled divine when my guests arrived, and I gotta tell you, this is the best beef stew I have ever made (not to mention the presentation is pretty spectacular!!). Everything was soooo tender, and the taste was divine. I'm planning on making it again this Halloween...I can hardly wait!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      For the longest time, I have wanted to make stew in a pumpkin. My sister-in-law did one last year and it was awesome. I thought it was going to be much harder than it really was. I added a couple of bay leaves, a teaspoon thyme, and some cayenne pepper to the stew. Tasted hearty and looked very impressive. Wish I had taken a picture of it. I had such a positive experience, I am thinking about doing this again for Halloween. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      My husband got me a big, beautiful pumpkin just so I could make this stew. The hardest part is cleaning the thing out and getting it ready. I followed your stew recipe and did not make any changes. Turned out so beautiful and tasted great. I took a picture but don't have a digital camera so can't post here :( Very memorable and delicious. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beef Stew in a Pumpkin

    Serving Size: 1 (779 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 729.1
     
    Calories from Fat 316
    43%
    Total Fat 35.1 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 12.6 g
    63%
    Cholesterol 118.0 mg
    39%
    Sodium 805.1 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.1 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 39.7 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites