17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have never been disappointed when I cook your recipes. This was another outstanding one. The beef patties were so incredibly moist. The sauce was nicely seasoned--loved the thyme flavor. My family all agreed that this was excellent and deserving of more than 5-stars. Thanks Inez.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' October 12, 2002

This was a totally scrumptious meal. My bunch wolfed your hamburger patties down and gave them high compliments. Soft enough to cut with a fork. Made plenty of sauce and I used some of it to go over the rice. Thank you.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laylagirl November 23, 2002

Absolutely delicious!!!! I especially liked the savoury cream sauce on these,love the flavour of thyme! What a nice change from the sweet sauces that are usually on hamburger dishes such as meatloaves, meatballs etc. etc..followed the recipe exactly and I do not think I would change a thing! Quick & easy to make too. Will be having these again!Thanks Inez for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda *J* January 21, 2004

Great patties, as the other reviewers said. The sauce was, however, far too bland, BUT it could have been the fault of the chicken broth I used. I spiced up the sauce with local piquanté pepper seasoning, a touch of nutmeg and turmeric, and a dash of Tabasco. Also, because the sauce was too thin, I did not add the milk, but did add a tablespoon of créme fraiche. It was still not quite there ... but quite good served with mashed potatoes and green veggies. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie April 01, 2013

I made this last night. De Lish Us. The children have asked me to make it again. This shall be a regular in our house. Bella

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella chef September 23, 2003

This was a very tasty dish and a nice way to pretty up a "burger". The beef was very yummy though I added some oregano and a bit more spice just for more flavor, otherwise it was great. I agree with everyone else the sauce while yummy was very thin and either you need to reduce the amt of broth or keep adding more flour to thicken it - so you have to play with it - plus i added a tad more butter and extra of the seasonings (tasted weak w/the orig measurements to me) otherwise a nice simple sauce that gave the patties a nice flavor. I served the patties on a bed of rice w/the cream sauce over it - so that the rice soaked up the sauce as well - GREAT combo! Will make again. The only question i have is why is the sauce in the picture so golden color? mine was more "white" lol i just am curious how it turned out that way in the pic! lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefmuffnette June 09, 2015

Unfortunately, this wasn't well received at our house. I found the sauce didn't have much flavour so I added more thyme and then a dash of sage too. As others mentioned, the sauce is very thin so I had to add cornstarch to thicken it up. It is nice to try something a bit different though, so thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word February 24, 2010

oh.so.tasty! I even accidentally left out the catsup and it was still delicious! The only (intentional) change was that I only used about 8 oz of stock, per some of the other reviews, and that worked out well -- had a nice creamy sauce. I served this with new potatoes and green beans. Slurp! We loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SolightlyUK October 10, 2009

Very good! and easy to make. My husband asked me to make sure I kept this recipe safe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mycuteboys October 16, 2008

Five stars for sure! That thyme sauce is what makes it. I did follow others advice and used only half of the chicken stock. I think that I could have used a little more. Maybe 3/4 of a can. The meat mixture also makes great meatballs. I'm feeding myself, my husband and a toddler. So, I made 4 meat patties and formed the rest into meat balls for a pasa dish. I cooked them all on the same pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha Cooks! September 15, 2008
Beef Patties With Cream Sauce