Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Southern / Awesome Red Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Red Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2013

      Just got back from New Orleans and was going through NOLA food withdrawal, lol. Made these last night....soooo good! I used creole seasoning that we picked up while in NOLA, red beans and threw in a ham bone. We let it simmer for a couple of hours constantly smashing the beans up. It was amazing! Tasted just like some of the beans we had in New Orleans. Instead of rice, we boiled some red potatoes in a creole seafood boil seasoning and served it along side. Awesome. Thanks for the recipe, this is a new favourite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      I make this all the time and, yes, I am from Louisiana and, no, I don't live in a swamp. Made for Spring PAC 2012.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Great recipe. I did make one sub and that was to use red beans instead of kidney beans. A real Southern gal would never use KIDNEY beans! The seasoning was right on. I surely wish I'd had andouille, but had to settle for plain smoked. Thnx for sharing your recipe, lolablitz. Made for PAC Spring 2010. You've been adopted! http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=327498&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Nothing like red beans and rice served with Kato's Cornbread, green onions and Authentic Southern Fried Okra to round things out. I did adjust this to cook it in the crock pot. The water was reduced to about 6 cups.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      This is delicious! Talk about an inexpensive and filling meal! Only change I made, was to exclude celery and green pepper (hubby isn't in to them). I did however, add some celery seed. Served this over rice....would definitely make it again. A winner for the whole family. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      i use just about this exact same recipe, except, i use canned red beans. it's a lot faster, and is very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      Made exactly as written, and it was truly awesome! It has a very nice kick, just the right amount of heat. Recipe going into regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2014

      Yum! This took a while but it was really good. It really all depends on your cajun seasoning so pick a good one!! Thanks for the great recipe lolabitz....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      Gonna try this one tonight. Sounds easy enough, and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Red Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (610 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.0
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    56%
    Total Fat 21.9 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 46.2 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1048.7 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites